Contact Info
Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
Contact Subject Librarian
Rudolph Clay
Contact:
Olin Library, Room 319
1 Brookings Dr., CB 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
rudolphc@wustl.edu
1 Brookings Dr., CB 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
rudolphc@wustl.edu
314-935-5059
Finding Aids by Subject: African American History
- Black Film Promotional Material CollectionThe collection contains ca. 2,700 promotional items including photographic stills, programs, advertising materials, lobby cards, pressbooks, and posters, representing approximately 400 films, ranging in date from 1915 to 1980.
- Urban League of St. Louis RecordsThe collection includes material from the 1920s to 1969 including files of Executive Directors, annual reports, and files on various programs of the League.
- Evening Whirl Newspaper Collection
This link opens in a new window
St. Louis crime newspaper from circa 1950 - present (available at Special Collections - issues are not online) - Black Manifesto CollectionDocuments of the Association of Black Students (ABS) outlining the areas they urgently felt needed improvement, including black student enrollment, treatment of blacks on campus, and the introduction of a Black Studies program to the curriculum. These points were expanded in the Black Manifesto of 1968.
- Publications - College of Arts & Sciences, includes Department of Africa and African-American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
St. Louis African-American Newspapers
Online access (providing wide-span of years)
Full text searching is available for the noted African American newspaper, Chicago Defender, which often covered near-by St. Louis, as well as Midwest and national news.
- Chicago Defender Historical (1910-1975) online
This link opens in a new window
Search for St. Louis related stories - St. Louis Argus (only 1915- 1926) Digitaldigitized by local historian and made available via Internet Archive
Online, Microfilm and Print Access
Please contact organizations directly for newspapers not from WashU.
- Evening Whirl Newspaper Collection (print) @ WUSTL archives
- This link opens in a new window
St. Louis crime newspaper from circa 1950 - present (available at Special Collections - issues are not online) - Proud (Saint Louis, Mo.) 1970 -1985 Print (bound volumes) @ Webster UniversityContact: Webster University Library for more information (314) 968-6950
- St. Louis American 1951 – 1978 Microfilm @ Missouri History MuseumContact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
- St. Louis Argus 1915 – 1997 Microfilm @ MO State Historical SocietyReels of microfilm can be requested via ILL for use in Olin Library. See pages 212 - 215 of the linked list to determine the reel number for your request.
- St. Louis Argus 1954 -1982 Microfilm @ WUSTL Olin Library1954:Oct.8 -1954:Nov.5 mid issue -1955:Nov.11mid issue, 1955:Nov.11-1955:Dec., 1956:Apr.13-1969:Oct.17,
1970:Mar.-Dec., 1971-1972, 1973:Mar.8-Dec.27,
1974-1982 - St. Louis Metro Sentinel. 1971 – Microfilm @ Missouri History MuseumContact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
- St. Louis Palladium 1903 - 1907 Microfilm @ Missouri History MuseumContact: Missouri History Museum Library & Research Center, 225 S. Skinker (across from Forest Park), St. Louis, Missouri, (314) 746-4500
African-American Newspapers - National
- African American Newspapers (ProQuest)Search all ProQuest African-American Newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier.
- African Americans - PeriodicalsCheck this subject heading for many related titles