Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Ask your subject librarian for questions about appropriate use of our electronic resources, including text and data mining.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. Contains more than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900.
New
Complete and unabridged online edition of print Brill encyclopedias: Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450.
New
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
New
The goal of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) is to share China’s knowledge with the world, providing answers for deeper and more comprehensive research. CNKI provides the most comprehensive, highest quality database of dissertations and theses in China. We have access to doctoral and masters’ dissertations from Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), Series G (Economics/Politics/Law), and Series H (Education/Social Sciences).
  • Free resource
New
Freely available search, discovery and analytics platform that brings together over 128 million research items from across the scholarly ecosystem; includes citation and online attention data for 89 million publications, and over 4 billion
connections to related grants (and their associated funding agencies), patents and clinical trials to help you gather information on current and future research activity. Does NOT include Get it! buttons but does link to publisher fulltext, etc. Register for personal login to save citations.
New
Contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
New
Orlando covers Britain’s major and minor women authors of all time periods and includes timelines, bibliographies, biographies, and other contextual material.

With Orlando, users may examine individual authors within a network of their contemporaries and those across traditional period divides.

Being both a reference source and dynamic, interactive collection, Orlando grows as researchers add linked material, create timelines, or compose tagging taxonomies.
New
Literary and critical theory encompasses a range of topics, including periods, movements, themes and works that make it a dynamic field of study. This collection provides researchers with a pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources. Every article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. This collection covers other disciplines which feed in to, and are often transformed by, literary theory; disciplines such as linguistics, philosophy, psychoanalysis, sociology, the social sciences and work from non-Anglophone cultures and traditions.
New
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. Updated monthly.
New
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars in Latin American History. The encyclopedia covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research. This source is regularly updated.
New
Tool to visualize research performance of groups and individuals, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyze research trends.
Individual SciVal account required. If you have an account for Scopus or ScienceDirect (or other Elsevier product), you can use your Elsevier account credentials for SciVal. If you do not have an Elsevier account, you can register by clicking 'Register Now' link on the SciVal Login page.
New
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI) archives, Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. All the films in this collection have been digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm film reels. The films cover all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba.
New
The Textual History of the Bible Online is unique in providing, for the first time, a cross-searchable platform with all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures.
In addition, it includes articles on the history of research, the editorial histories of the Hebrew Bible, as well as other aspects of text-critical research and its auxiliary fields, such as papyrology, codicology, and linguistics.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...