Skip to main content

Art-Arch 4482 Japanese Prints: Courtesans, Actors and Travelers

Research guide for Art-Arch 4482, Fall 2014.

Wash U collection of journals on Asian and/or Japanese art

Finding articles in English

Finding articles in Japanese

Access to full-text articles

If full text of the article is available through the databases, a link to a PDF (or other electronic formats) appears on your search results. If you do not find full-text articles through the databases listed here, follow the steps below to look for print copies or althernate electronic editions. Wash U Libraries's collections may include a print or stand-alone electronic copy of the journal. (Many Japanese journals still come in print format. See also the list of Japanese journals currently received at the East Asian Library).

1. Gather as much information about the article (journal/magazine title, year of publication, volume, number, article title, pages, etc) from the index/databases.

2. Look up the journal/magazine title using the Classic Catalog. (See Find Books and Romanization pages for more tips).

3. If you find the journal at Wash U Libraries, follow the location(s) and call number to locate the physical copy (if print), or use the link provided on the Classic Catalog (if available electronically). Older issues of magazines and journals can be requested and/or checked out like regular books. If the journal is not held at Wash U, you can still request journal/magazine articles through Interlibrary Loan. (Sometimes Google Scholar provides free access to full-text articles as well).