Research & Tech Workshop: Enhancing your Research with Special Collections
Washington University Libraries' Special Collections contain exciting research materials that are available to everyone. In this session, students will learn how to find and access these rare or unique primary and secondary sources as well as get an overv
Christian devotional book popular in the Middle Ages. It is the most common type of surviving medieval illuminated manuscript. Each is unique in one way or another, but most contain a similar collection of texts, prayers and psalms, often with appropriate decorations, for Christian devotion. Usually written in Latin or in vernacular European languages.
Published in 1892 during the Arts & Crafts movement, by William Morris' Kelmscott Press. Reaction against industrial revolution and mass-produced books. We have manuscripts, proofs, other archival materials from this press and Doves and Ashendene, the three of which make up the Triple Crown Collection. The original Golden Legend was a collection of hagiographies first compiled around 1260, and it became a medieval and incunable bestseller. Accompanied by a September 23, 1892 letter from William Morris and a proof sheet on vellum.
This is the “Fourth Folio,” or the fourth edition of the complete works of Shakespeare’s, published in 1685 (the first appeared in 1623). The Second and Third Folios added additional plays and poems, which are included here along with additional edits and corrections. The Fourth Folio served as the basis for all subsequent publications of Shakespeare’s works until the 19th century.
University Archives material highlighted in Research Studio
The papers of William G. Eliot (co-founder of Washington University) include diaries, letters, published works, published and unpublished sermons and talks, newspaper clippings of articles written by or about Eliot, photographs; and biographical and other material about Eliot.
U.S. Presidential Debate Collection, 2016: The collection includes publications, media kits, souvenirs, and other material documenting the U.S. Presidential Debate held at Washington University on October 9, 2016.
Local History material highlighted in Research Studio
This collection includes materials that document the history and products of the St. Louis Car Company, including publicity materials, product specifications, job books, general office files, photographs, and drawings of cars produced by the St. Louis Car Company.
Popular American Arts material highlighted in Research Studio
This significant collection of non-film promotional material documents how blacks were portrayed in films from 1915 to 1980. The collection contains ca. 2,700 promotional items including photographic stills, programs, trade advertisements, advertising materials, advertising supplements, lobby cards, pressbooks, and posters, representing approximately 400 films, ranging in date from 1915 to the 1980s.
Film & Media Archive material highlighted in Research Studio
Search Mavis-Web FMA
Search for films, photographs, interviews, background research
Photographs form "Eyes on the Prize" documentary. These photos show people and events from the Civil Rights Movement from 1955 - 1965, including but not limited to these people / events: Emmett Till, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Fannie Lou Hamer, Medgar Evers, Myrlie Evers, Bayard Rustin, John Lewis, Rosa Parks; Montgomery Bus Boycott, Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court case, Little Rock school integration crisis of 1957, University of Mississippi Freedom Summer, Voting Rights Act, 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, and the 1968 Democratic National Convention.