The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 6.7 million records.
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable Get It! and Web of Science Links from within Google Scholar citations. Learn more about proxying Google Scholar
A comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, mechanical engineering, production and manufacturing engineering, and information technology. Includes Inspec Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids. CrossSearch allows searching Web of Science and INSPEC at the same time.
The search engine for life science PDFs. Provides article-level tools making content discovery, access and copyright management much easier for the user. Expanded to include the arXiv repository, it can also be used to locate and retrieve papers in mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. Sources include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. NOTE: requires user registration. Follow this link to register using your “@wustl.edu” email address -Registration for SciFinder
Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Find it! Physics Search
Use Find it! to locate the physics and astronomy articles you're looking for. Note: You must also click Go to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen.
Bibliographic information on books & other materials published in United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. Includes Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S. which is updated quarterly.
Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. View 24-page previews of dissertations and theses, and download the full text. Learn more about this database
Information on journal rankings and impact factors in the sciences and social sciences, based on citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.
Online library of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports, acquired, indexed, and archived by the National Technical Information Service. Contains over 2 million titles with links to over 600,000 full-text reports (in PDF). Note: Search to Public NTRL is free but in order to display a full text document you would need to register. Registration is free but Terms and Conditions of use need to be signed.
Over 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database
Collection of over 12,000 full-text electronic books on computing, databases, networking, operating systems, programming, software engineering, .NET, Cisco products, Web design, Java, XML and more. Note: People affiliated with the WU Medical School (who do not also have an appointment on the Danforth Campus) are not allowed access to Safari from off-campus via the proxy server. On-campus access is allowed. Please observe these Terms of Service. Learn more about this database