The standard English-language dictionary of the classical world. Includes extensive bibliographic references. It provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
"offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myth."
The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 3200 authoritative profiles, usually around 2500 words in length, of authors, works and topics written by over 1200 experts. Includes substantial coverage of classical authors and topics
Major reference work that "Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture." Includes substantial coverage of ancient religion.
"Provides a scholarly account of ancient cultures around the world, from China to India, the Middle East, Egypt, Europe, and the Americas. It outlines the history of the different societies so their religion and culture can be understood in context."
The Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World (EHW) is an original electronic project aiming at collecting, recording, documenting, presenting and promoting the historical data that testify to the presence of Hellenic culture throughout time and space.
Three kinds of dictionaries: * dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages * dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words * historical Latin dictionaries
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
With its striking range and penetrating depth, Brill’s Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World traces the enduring history and wide-ranging cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era. Featuring original contributions by a host of distinguished international scholars, this comprehensive reference work explores every aspect of the civilized world from literature and law to philosophy and the sciences.
"Some 500 articles by a wide range of scholars investigate the afterlife of the rich legacy of ancient Greece and Rome in the fields of literature, philosophy, art, architecture, history, politics, religion, and science. Accompanied by an extensive selection of illustrations, this guide illuminates the vitality of the Classical tradition that still exists. "
the first comprehensive English language work to assemble information covering all Greek and Latin natural science, from its beginnings with Thales through the end of the Late Antiquity with Isidore of Seville and Paulos of Aigina. A team of over 100 of the world's experts in the field have compiled almost 1600 entries - 244 of those describing figures that are not mentioned in any other reference work - resulting in a unique and hugely ambitious resource which will prove indispensable for anyone seeking the details of the history of ancient science.
Useful general handbook of classical literature & its background, not derived from the Oxford Classical Dictionary. No bibliographies. The Concise Oxford Companion is available online through Oxford reference.