Art+Feminism
Image by Divya Mehra - Author, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=56839330
A+F Editing handouts
2020 STL Art+Feminism Dashboard
Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon StL
Art + Feminism Resources
New to Editing?
- Set up your Wikipedia account
- Change your Editing Mode at Preferences:Editing to "Show me both editors"
- Start small! Encyclopedic writing is different than typical writing assignments
- It can be easier to start with a source to add than finding a source to fill gaps
Getting Started:
- Sign in to the program dashboard with your Wikipedia username. This is essential for counting our work toward international Art+Feminism data.
- Share! Use tags #ArtAndFeminism and #noweditingAF on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
If you have:
- 1 hour or less set up your Wikipedia user page and make some simple edits to existing pages.
- 90 minutes find a source in your area of expertise to add links and citations to an existing article.
- 2+ hours add a well cited paragraph to an article in your area of expertise. Add links to that article in relevant articles.
- 2-4 hours consider creating a new article. If you're a new editor, start with the above activities. Be sure to gather your reliable sources and check in with an experienced Wikipedian to ensure that your article meets Wikipedia’s notability guidelines.
Suggested tasks:
- Edit articles for clarity and remove sexist phrasing
- Add links to “orphan” articles in related topics (an artist’s contemporaries, exhibit spaces, or influences)
- Find and upload public domain images to Wikimedia commons
- Add sourced information to wikidata.org (see Books, Articles, Encyclopedia tabs)
Articles to edit:
- Cleanup list - Wikiproject Women Artists This is the worklist for WikiProject Women artists. Help Wikipedia improve its coverage of women artists by improving or starting one of these articles today!
- Women artists articles by *quality (class) Note that these pages link to the "Talk" page.
- Stub class A very basic description of the topic.
- Start class An article that is developing, but which is quite incomplete. It might or might not cite adequate reliable sources.
- C class The article is substantial, but is still missing important content or contains much irrelevant material. The article should have some references to reliable sources, but may still have significant problems or require substantial cleanup.
*WikiProject article quality grading scheme
See similar lists for Wikiproject: Women in Green and Wikiproject: LGBT Studies
Browse by topic:
- Architecture Architecture and Women | Women architects | Feminism and architecture
- Art Feminism and art | Feminism in art | Gender identity in art | Minority women artists | Women artists | Women designers | Women painters | Women photographers | Women sculptors | Women artists - Exhibitions
- Art History Feminist art criticism | Women art historians | Women art critics | Women artists - History
- Other Arts Feminism and music | Feminist theater | Women in the theater | Women musicians
Selected books:
Art and Feminism by Call Number: Art Gen N72.F45 A78 2001ISBN: 0714835293Publication Date: 2001-06-15
Confessions of the Guerrilla Girls by Call Number: Art Gen N6512.5 G83 C66 1995ISBN: 0060950889Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Global Feminisms by Call Number: Art Gen N8354 .G56 2007ISBN: 1858943906Publication Date: 2007-03-01
- Architecture DatabasesLinks to databases indexing journal and newspaper literature.
- Art Databases - article indexesLinks to databases indexing journal and newspaper literature.
- n.paradoxaInternational feminist art journal
Print issues: Art Current Periodicals and Art Per N72.F45 N22 - Woman's Art JournalRepresenting the interests of women and art worldwide, WAJ wants to serve as a forum for re-examining feminist concerns of the women's art movement.
Print issues: Art Current Periodicals and Art Per N72 F45 W64
Online Resources:
- Oxford Art Online (8 users) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world, as well as images. Available through this site are Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (1975 - ) This link opens in a new windowIndexes any print product that includes biographical information on individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 16.9 million.
- International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) - Biographical DatabaseBrowse the IAWA Biographical Database to learn more about women in architecture around the world. Click on the 'Publications' tab for sources.
- ILLO IndexBiographical sketches and extremely brief critical assessments of illustrators and other practitioners of interest, primarily for students, from the blog, Notables: American Illustration circa 1900-1970.
- NMWA Artist ProfilesNational Museum of Women in the Arts (NWMA) profiles of women artists. This continues CLARA database of women artists.
- Clara Database of Women ArtistsClara® is a unique interactive database containing authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities. The information in Clara® is drawn from the materials in NMWA's extensive Archives on Women Artists. No longer updated, but archived. See current NWMA's Artist Profiles page: http://nmwa.org/explore/artist-profiles
- Feminist Art BaseThe Feminist Art Base is a digital archive dedicated solely to feminist art, offering profiles of some of the most prominent and promising contributors to the field. This digital resource was created in 2007 and was actively expanded through 2014; the database remains available for researchers as an archive of activity by artists from the 1960s to the early 2000s.
- Oxford Music Online (8 users) This link opens in a new windowIn-depth articles covering all aspects of music. Includes the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Reference Online (5 users) This link opens in a new windowContains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Print Resources:
Concise Dictionary of Women Artists by Call Number: Art Ref N8354 .C65 2001ISBN: 1579583350Publication Date: 2001-07-01- A Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America since 1850 byCall Number: Art Ref N6757 D86 1989ISBN: 0812282302Publication Date: 1990-01-01
- Dictionary of Artists' Models byCall Number: Art Ref N7574 .D53 2001ISBN: 1579582338Publication Date: 2001-08-01
- Contemporary Women Artists byCall Number: Art Ref N8354 .C66 1999ISBN: 1558623728Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Dictionary of Women Artists by Call Number: Art Ref N43 P47 1985ISBN: 0816184569Publication Date: 1985-03-01
- Art+Feminism Research ResourcesRecommended resources from the Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon for improving Wikipedia articles related to women in the arts.
- Australian Women's Art RegisterThe Australian Women's Art Register was established by artists in 1975 to record and promote the work of Australian based women artists.
- Guerrilla GirlsFacts, humor and fake fur
- National Museum for Women in the ArtsFounded in 1987, NMWA is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to recognizing women’s creative contributions.
- Varo RegistryThe Varo Registry is an electronic registry of artwork by contemporary international women artists. Celebrating our fifteenth anniversary in 2011 we are proud to be among the earliest sites to feature emerging and established women artists from all over the world.
Abstract Expressionist Women Painters by Call Number: Art Gen Z5949 U5 P86 1995ISBN: 0810829983Publication Date: 1996-04-02
American Women Photographers by Call Number: Art Gen Z7134 .K74 1999ISBN: 0313304785Publication Date: 1999-02-28- Feminist Art Criticism byCall Number: Art Gen Z5956.F44 L36 1993 c.2ISBN: 9780816189489Publication Date: 1994-03-01
A Gallery of Her Own by Call Number: Art Gen Z5949 G7 H37 1997ISBN: 0815300409Publication Date: 1997-07-01- Women Artists in the U. S. byCall Number: Art Gen Z7963 A75 W65 1990ISBN: 081618917XPublication Date: 1990-02-01
- Women Impressionists byCall Number: Art Gen N6847.5.I4 I4713 2008ISBN: 9783775720793Publication Date: 2008-04-01
- Women in the Fine Arts byCall Number: Art Gen Z7963 A75 A47 1991ISBN: 0899505414Publication Date: 1991-08-01
ART 178- COURSE RESERVES
Art and Feminism by Call Number: Art Gen N72.F45 A78 2001ISBN: 0714835293Publication Date: 2001-06-15
Feminism Art Theory by Call Number: Art Gen N72.F45 F442 2015ISBN: 9781118360606Publication Date: 2015-04-20
The Feminism and Visual Culture Reader by Call Number: Art Gen N72.F45 F46 2010ISBN: 9780415543699Publication Date: 2010-02-22
