Login to the Proxy Server for Off-Campus Access
You can log into the proxy by clicking this button:
WU Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Google Scholar with Get It @WU
A-Z Database List
A-Z Database List
Looking for a database? Search by: Title, Database Type, Subject or Vendor/Publisher.
Browse Architecture Journals
Research Alerts
Resources for articles - Architecture
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934-) This link opens in a new windowJournal index covers more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Learn more about this database
- Art Full Text (1984-) This link opens in a new windowArticles from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Includes a total of 378 periodicals with the full text of 93 journals back to January 1997. Updated monthly.
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new windowJournal index of over 600 major art and architecture periodicals .
- Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Arts Premium Collection provides cross-searchable access to thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive international collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Includes the Art, Design & Architecture Collection. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
- BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
- Center for Health DesignOrganization dedicated to improving healthcare design. *WUSTL users can gain access to research literature by creating an account with your @wustl.edu email and indicating that you are affiliated with Washington University in St. Louis. The 'Insights & Solutions' includes research reports and issue briefs, interviews, case studies, design strategies, lessons learned, infographics, key point summaries, and webinars.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (1973 - ) This link opens in a new windowJournal Index. Indexes design and craft journals and newspapers and contains more than 212,000 records, with around 1,200 new records added in each monthly update. Learn more about this database
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowInformation covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in English and other European languages, 19th century to present. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
- America: History & Life (1964-) This link opens in a new windowA complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. Learn more about this database
- GPO Catalog (FirstSearch) (1976-) This link opens in a new windowListing of publications available from the U.S. Government Printing Office.
- Historical Abstracts (1955-) This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies. Learn more about this database
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScience Direct offers access to over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. While this database is best known for its collections in Science, Technology and Medicine, there is also strong coverage of journals in Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Click on Search to search all titles.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies This link opens in a new windowAccess to more than 300 case studies of commercial and residential development projects from 1985 to the present, including 20 new reports added each year. NOTE: login required to access entire database; follow link(s) to view password Password to log in to ULI Case Studies
- BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
- Center for Health DesignOrganization dedicated to improving healthcare design. *WUSTL users can gain access to research literature by creating an account with your @wustl.edu email and indicating that you are affiliated with Washington University in St. Louis. The 'Insights & Solutions' includes research reports and issue briefs, interviews, case studies, design strategies, lessons learned, infographics, key point summaries, and webinars.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants. Learn more about this database
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database
St. Louis Reports and Case Studies
St. Louis Reports and Case StudiesThe materials in this collection are reports and case studies about St. Louis, primarily discussions of housing, segregation, public policy, and urban renewal. Because of the limited availability of print copies and the high demand for these publications in courses and for research across Washington University, these materials have been digitized and made freely available online. These publications also help support The Divided City: An Urban Humanities Initiative.
(Photo credit: Washington University in St. Louis, Office of Public Affairs)
Historical Newspapers
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants. Learn more about this database
- African American Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowThe complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and early 1900s.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Two local library systems (St. Louis Public Library and St. Louis County Library) have access to Newspapers.com. For either system, you can live anywhere in the St. Louis metro area in Missouri and get a library card for free.
The Newspapers.com database offers more than 10,000 digitized newspaper titles for large and small communities in the U.S. as well as newspapers in Canada, Australia, Ireland, the British Isles and Panama, from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Includes the St. Louis Globe Democrat. Date ranges vary by publication.
SLCL (get a card). Newspapers.com
SLPL (get a card). Newspapers.com
Featured Digital Resources
- El Croquis Digital LibraryElectronic issues of El Croquis from 2001 (no. 104) to present. Print issues continue are still available at the Kranzberg Art & Architecture Library.
- Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new windowDETAIL online (selected projects from DETAIL Magazine)! Full text photos, drawings and technical information of selected projects from 30 years of DETAIL print magazine. Updated monthly.
- OnArchitecture This link opens in a new windowAn online audiovisual service, featuring original videos (interviews, buildings and installations) and a selection of complementary material -documents and audiovisuals- about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
For Partial Citation
- Citation LinkerPartial citation? Try Citation Linker
Evaluating Sources
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleGuide from NCSU identifying various parts of a scholarly article.
- Peer Review in 3 MinutesAlso from NCSU, a quick tutorial on peer review.
