Skip to main content

A Guide to Chinese Studies

Research Guide for Chinese Studies

English-language Journals on Chinese Studies

Electronic Journals: English-language Journals on Chinese Studies
Some databases are restricted to the WU community. Information about access from outside WU campuses.

Archives of the Chinese Art Society of America  1945-1965
Australian Journal of Chinese Affairs  1979-1995
Beijing Review 1993-
Bulletin of Sung and Yuan Studies 1978-1989
China : An International Journal 2003-
China Economic Journal 2008-
China Journal (1995-2015)
China Journal (2004- )
1995-
China Perspectives 2007-
China Quarterly (1960-2011)
China Quarterly (2001- a year ago)
1960-
China Review 1991-
China Review International 1994-2015
Chinese Journal of International Politics 2006-
Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR) (1979-2013)
Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR) (2009- )
1979-
Chinese Sociological Review 2001-
Chinese Studies in History 1969-
Early China 1975-2010
Frontiers of History in China 2006-
Frontiers of Philosophy in China 2006-2011
Jin tian = Today 2003-2015
Journal of Chinese Cinemas 2010-
Journal of Chinese Linguistics 1973-
Journal of Chinese Linguistics Monograph Series 1982-2010
Journal of Chinese Overseas (2005-2008)
Journal of Chinese Overseas (2009- )
2005-
Journal of Chinese Philosophy 1973-
Journal of Chinese Political Science 1995-
Journal of Chinese Religions 1983-
Journal of Contemporary China 1992-
Journal of Current Chinese Affairs 2009-
Journal of Daoist studiesl 2008-
Journal of Modern Chinese History 2007-
Journal of Song-Yuan Studies 2009-
Late Imperial China 1965-
Ming Studies 1975-
Modern China 1975-
Modern Chinese literature and culture 1999-2014
Monumenta Serica 1935-2010
Nan Nü : Men, Women, and Gender in Early and Imperial China 1999-
Provincial China 2010-2012
Sung Studies Newsletter 1970-1977
Tibet Journal 2002-
T'oung pao = Tong bao 1890-
Twentieth-century China (2007- )
Twentieth-century China (2008- )
2007-
Washington Journal of Modern China 2008-

 

Electronic Journals: Chinese-language Journals on Chinese Studies

Search: China Academic Journals Full-text Database
A full text, searchable database of journals from China. Current subscription to CAJ includes the Literature/History/Philosophy (series F), Politics/Military Affairs/Law (series G), Education/Social Sciences (series H), and Economy & Management (series J).
Please check also China National Social Science Database. It includes over seventy key journals published by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, which can be accessed only from this database starting from 2013.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services database (TEPS) 臺灣電子期刊服務網
Also known as “Airiti Library: Chinese Periodical Services (CEPS)".
Provides access to articles in 900 Taiwanese periodicals in various subjects, from 1991 to current.  They are full text searchable and the articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

 

 

English-language Journals on East Asian Studies

Electronic Journals: English-language Journals on East Asian Studies

Additional electronic journals on: Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, and Korean Studies.

Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community.  Information about access from outside WU campuses.

Archives of Asian Art 2008-
Artibus Asiae 1925-2011
Artibus Asiae. Supplementum 1937-2006
Ars Orientalis 1954-2013
Asia Major 1924-
Asia-Pacific Review 2000-
Asia policy 2006-
Asian Affairs (1973-2009)
Asian Affairs (1989-18 mo. ago)
1973-2016
Asian Economic Journal 1998-
Asian Ethnology 2008-
Asian Folklore Studies 1963-2007
Asian Journal of Social Science 2001-2011
Asian Journal of Women's Studies 1995-
Asian Music (1968-2011)
Asian Music (2005- )
1968-
Comparative Connections 1999-
Asian Perspective 1977-2011
Asian Perspectives 2000-
Asian Philosophy 1991-
Asian Social Work and Policy Review 2008-
Asian Survey 1961-
Asian Theatre Journal (1984-2013)
Asian Theatre Journal (1999- )
1984-
Australian Journal of International Affairs 1995-
Buddhist-Christian Studies (1981-2013)
Buddhist-Christian Studies (1999- )
1981-
Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies, University of London (1917-1940) 1917-1940
Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London (1940-2011)
Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London (2001- )
1940-
Comparative Connections 1999-
Critical Asian Studies 2001-
Cross-Currents: East Asian History and Culture Review 2012-
E-Journal of East and Central Asian Religions 2013-
East and West 1950-2009
East Asia: An International Quarterly 1982-
East Asian History 1991-
East Asian Science, Technology and Society 2007-
European Journal of East Asian Studies 2001-
Far Eastern Quarterly 1941-1956
Far Eastern Survey 1935-1961
Folklore Studies 1942-1962
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (1936-2011)
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (2009- )
1936-
Inter-Asia cultural studies 2000-
International Journal of Asian Studies 2004-
International Relations of the Asia-Pacific 2008-
Journal of American-East Asian Relations 1996-
Journal of Asian & African Studies 2002-
Journal of Asian American Studies 1998-
Journal of Asian History 1967-2017
Journal of Asian Studies (1956-2013)
Journal of Asian Studies (2004- )
1956-
Journal of Buddhist Philosophy 2005-
Journal of East Asian Archaeology 2000-2003
Journal of East Asian Linguistics 1992-
Journal of Oriental Studies 2005-2013
Journal of the American Oriental Society 1843-
Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient (1957-2010)
Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient (1957- )
1957-
Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain & Ireland 1834-
Manoa 1999-
Memorandum (Institute of Pacific Relations, American Council) 1932-1934
Modern Asian Studies (1967-2011)
Modern Asian Studies (1967- )
1967-
News Bulletin (Institute of Pacific Relations) 1926-1928
Pacific Affairs (1928-2015) 1928-2015
Philosophy East and West (1951-2013)
Philosophy East and West (2000- )
1951-
Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique 1999-
Studies in Central & East Asian Religions 1999-2001
Studies on Asia 2010-