Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
An electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. Access to this site is limited to WU students, faculty, and staff.
The ARTstor Charter Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images; it documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
ARTstor Collections include: the Slide Gallery, the Art History Survey Collection, the Carnegie Arts of the U. S. Collection, the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, the Huntington Archive of Asian Art, the Illustrated Bartsch, the Mellon International Dunhuang Archive, and the Museum of Modern Art, Architecture & Design Collection. For more information about ARTStor click on the tab above.
An image database containing 20,000 works from the Guildhall Library and Guildhall Art Gallery London. "All images are copyright Corporation of London and may not be copied or reproduced for any purpose."
This collection contains over 8,800 maps and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
The exhibition catalogues listed correspond with special exhibitions, including selections from the museum's collection, collections lent by other institutions or individuals for temporary display at the DMA or the DIA, as well as a combination of both.
Includes access to100,000 images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the decorative arts from the Bridgeman Art Library, as well as image links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world. Access to this site is limted to WU students, faculty, and staff.
About 6,500 objects, highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments as well as the entire Department of European Paintings and the entire Department of American Paintings and Sculpture, can be accessed online through this site.
Over 330,000 of the 450,000 objects owned by the Boston Museum of Fine Arts are available for viewing in the online collections database, many of which have images. Basic catalog information as well as provenance history is included.
The Middle East Department of the University of Chicago Library maintains an archive of early photographs of the Middle East. These photographs have been scanned and made available on the World Wide Web.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 376,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more
Over 100,000 works of art digitized from major art museums in the United States, Canada, and the UK are represented in this database. Coverage includes Greco-Roman,Egyptian, African, Asian, South American, Oceania, Pre-Columbian and North American.
The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.
You may search here for over 20,000 works and over 26,000 images from the V&A collections. The database covers a wide range of objects, including ceramics, fashion, furniture, glass, metalwork, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, and textiles.
It includes image databases from the Imperial War Museum, London College of Fashion, John Johnson Collection of Political Prints, National Arts Education Archive, The Design Council Archive, and others. This database was previously known as Arts and Humanities Data Service (AHDS).
VIA contains descriptive records and images representing paintings, sculpture, photography, drawings, prints, architecture, decorative arts, trade cards, rubbings, theater designs, maps and plans. Participating repositories include archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. New material is added to VIA daily.
A virtual museum & searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 15,400 reproductions.
There are restrictions on the use of most images. Please be careful and study the conditions that apply to each resource. For more information, check out the University of Texas Crash Course in Copyright or the Franklin Pierce Law Center's Copyright in Visual Arts.