Banner Image

Finding Images

This guide provides information about digital image collections and other image resources of interest to artists, architects, art historians, and others studying visual culture at Washington University in Saint Louis.

Subject Librarian for Art & Architecture

Jennifer Akins
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Art & Architecture Library

Kemper Museum Building Ground Floor

314-935-4377

jakins@wustl.edu
Website / Blog Page

VISUAL RESOURCES COLLECTION - LUNA

Louis Sullivan, Wainwright Tomb, Saint Louis, 1892; Visual Resources Collection

Curated by the Visual Resources Center, the Visual Resources Collection currently features more than 80,000 high-quality images spanning all eras of art and architectural history. Its ongoing development reflects the coursework and scholarship of faculty and students, and all image records include detailed, reliable metadata.

In LUNA, users must select the Visual Resources Collection in the left sidebar to search its holdings.

 

Image Resources by Subject

WUSTL - Multidisciplinary Image Resources

 

  Artstor - Over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Artstor Subject Guides

 

LUNA - Washington University's locally created image collections.

Login: WUSTL Key. Guests login: lunapublic, public (note: VRC and MGHL collections not available). 

Associated Press (AP) Images - historical and contemporary images from breaking news and sports to business, entertainment, weather, fashion, travel from 1826 to the present.

 

Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary images. Use the Image Quick View Types feature at the bottom of the search page to limit to results with accompanying image.


Images on the Web - Always check the license to verify if your use is allowed. See also the Copyright and Fair Use secton of this guide.

Google Images try advanced features under Search Tools, such as size, type and license (usage rights).

 

 

Creative Commons - CC Search enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools, providing convenient access to Google Image, Flickr and Wikimedia Commons.

 

Flickr - The Commons provides access to publicly-held photography collections from cultural institutions around the world, including the Smithsonian, Getty, NASA, and the National Media Museum.

Art:

In Advanced Search, select 'Art Reproduction' in Document Type.

In Advanced Search, select 'Art Reproduction' in Document Type.

Use 'Document feature' to select type of image (illustration, photo, sketch, plan, etc).


Landscape Architecture:

History:

Image credit: Ad for Van Camp's Pork and Beans from Ladies' Home Journal, December 1911/From the Periodicals Collections

A case of Scurvy  Description: Page from the journal of Henry Walsh Mahon showing the effects of scurvy, from his time aboard HM Convict Ship Barrosa.  Date: 1841/2

Sciences:

Image credit:

A case of Scurvy/Description: Page from the journal of Henry Walsh Mahon showing the effects of scurvy, from his time aboard HM Convict Ship Barrosa./Date: 1841/2

American Philosophical Society - Anthropology Images Collections concerning archaeology, linguistics, cultural anthropology, and physical anthropology, the APS is a rich resource of images depicting both the study of these disciplines and the people who practiced them

Image credit:

Entrance to the Ossuary, Chichén Itzá
Collection: A. D. White Architectural Photographs, Cornell University Library
Accession Number: 15/5/3090.00656
Title: Entrance to the Ossuary, Chichén Itzá
Photograph date: ca. 1895-ca. 1935
Building Date: 9th-12th century
Location: North and Central America: Mexico; Chichen Itzá
Materials: gelatin silver print

St. Louis Maps: St. Louis Neighborhoods Contemporary maps of St. Louis city neighborhoods.

Summaries of Historical City Planning Index and date listings for St. Louis city plans created 1875-1990; check WU libraries for copies of original plans.

Loading

More about LUNA

Ensign, Bridgman & Fanning, "The World At One View," 1847-52; David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

LUNA is Washington University's digital image management system for locally created image collections. It allows users to collect and export grouped images directly to PowerPoint.

LUNA Commons features over 300,000 images from public collections of the LUNA community.

Using LUNA:

1) Faculty and students can log in on or off campus using their WUSTL Key. Guests may log in with username "lunapublic" and password "public." (Note: Guests cannot access the Modern Graphic History Library or Visual Resources Collection).

2) Browse by collection on the left panel, or search across collections on the upper right. To search Washington University's local collections you must select them individually.

More about Artstor

Edgar Degas; “Four Ballerinas;” c. 1870-1900; Museu de Arte Brasileira, Photo Credit: Erich Lessing/ART RESOURCE, N.Y. 

Please note that if this image is under copyright, you may need to contact one or more copyright owners for any use that is not permitted under the ARTstor Terms and Conditions of Use or not otherwise permitted by law. 

Artstor combines digital image collections from museums, archives, and academic institutions nationwide into a single, searchable interface of over one million images. It allows users to group and export images directly to PowerPoint. 

Using Artstor:

1) New users must register with Artstor and log in once on campus, after which the program can be accessed remotely. Upon entering Artstor follow the "Register" prompt at the upper righthand corner of the welcome page.

2) Search across or browse individual collections.