Academic Journals
Subject-specific eJournal collections
America: History & Life (1964-) - a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.
Multidisciplinary Academic Journal databases
Google Scholar vs. Primo
JSTOR vs. Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- MAS Ultra (1975 - )Full text for more than 700 popular magazines, plus biographies, primary source documents, pamphlets, and reference books. Complements Academic Search Complete.
- Project MUSE Premium collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
- ScopusThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers.
More than 900 searchable full-text law journals and many legal resources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Useful for U.S. political history.
Periodicals: Journals, Newspapers & Magazines
National Newspapers & Magazines
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 - Over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, have been digitized. The Libraries have subscribed to Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; and Series 3, 1829-1922.
Historical American Newspapers Includes The Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
- American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)Full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals
- Historical American Newspapers (ProQuest)includes The Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post
- Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers (1800 - 1900)Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- New York Times, Historical (1851 - 3 year ago)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Washington Post (1877-1993)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889-1991)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Harper's Magazine Archives (1850-2016)The oldest general-interest monthly in America, Harper’s Magazine explores the issues that drive our national conversation, through long-form narrative journalism, fiction, essays, and such celebrated features as the iconic Harper’s Index. Provides readers with a unique perspective on politics, society, the environment, and culture.
- Harper's Weekly: The Civil War Era, Reconstruction, and the Gilded Age (1857 - 1912)Full text and full-page images, which contain numerous illustrations and maps. Indexed by subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, advertising, occupation, and literary genre.
- New York Review of Books (1963 - )A semi-monthly magazine with articles on literature, culture and current affairs. It features not only book reviews and discussions of literature but critical essays on politics and culture.
- Liberty Magazine (1924-1950)The entire run of Liberty Magazine, containing nearly 1,400 issues, over 17,000 fiction and non-fiction articles, and thousands of advertisements -- all in a searchable, full-color format. The magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America. Browse by date, contributor, and artist, or search the full text of the entire publication (including advertising, maps, and cartoons).
Regional Papers
Chronicling America - begun in 2005, this website provides access to historic newspapers and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LoC). Its coverage period ranges from 1789 to 1963 and includes over 1000 newspaper titles available from 46 states & Puerto Rico.
- Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-1992)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Hartford Courant (1764-1987)America’s longest continuously published newspaper, The Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation.
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003)Contains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants.
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922)Full-text coverage of such events as the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America’s entry into World War I, and more.
African American Newspapers
- African American Newspapers (ProQuest)Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-1975)Historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of Chicago's politics, society and events of the time.
- Cleveland Call and Post, Historical (1934-1991)The Cleveland Call and Post was founded by Garrett Morgan, inventor of the gas mask and traffic light. Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund.
- New York Amsterdam News, Historical (1922-1993)The New York Amsterdam News, leading Black newspaper of the 20th century, reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
- Norfolk Journal and Guide, Historical (1921-2003)The Norfolk Journal and Guide was the only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time.
- Philadelphia Tribune, Historical (1912-2001)The Philadelphia Tribune, the oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
- Pittsburgh Courier, Historical (1911-2002)The Pittsburgh Courier was one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
Other Ethnic, Denominational, and Amateur Newspapers
- Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society (Archives Unbound)An amateur journal is a periodical created to afford pleasure to its readers as well as to its editor and its publisher. The rage to publish, rather than profit, is the motive that most often induces people to become amateur journalists; and, throughout the history of the genre, most but not all amateur journalists have been juveniles. The Amateur Newspaper collection at the American Antiquarian Society consists of about 50,000 issues.
- American Religion: Denominational NewspapersHistorical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. Contains more than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900.
- Ethnic NewsWatcha current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, including historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
- The First Nations Periodical Indexcontains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This Index is a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.
- Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)Covers news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Honored by the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
- Jewish News Archive & Global Jewish News SourceThis is the digital archive of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency (JTA), containing all articles published from 1923 onward.
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933 - Historical women’s periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women’s rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women’s periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
- Newspapers.comextensive online database of historical newspapers from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. It contains a diverse blend of well-known regional and local newspapers in the US and other countries