Research Guides: A Social Work Research Guide: Video/Multimedia

Boxes on This Video/Multimedia Page

Here are links to the boxes on this Video/Multimedia page.
Streaming Videos at the Brown School Library
Video/Multimedia in the Danforth/West Campus Libraries
Interlibrary Loan for Video/Multimedia
Video/Multimedia - What Can I Show to Groups On-Campus
Tutorial Videos on Library Topics

Streaming Videos at the Brown School Library

Academic Video Online
Over 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

C-SPAN Video Library
Huge collection of government affairs and also book talks. https://www.c-span.org/
Color of Medicine: The Story of Homer G. Phillips Hospital
Streaming license ends: July 19, 2024. running time: 1hr 50 mins. 2020. Director: Joyce Marie Fitzpatrick, Brian Shackelford. By Vision Films. "Homer G. Phillips Hospital provided state-of-the-art medical training to African-American physicians and nurses during the most turbulent of segregated times paving way for people of color to achieve greatness for the benefit of humankind." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Coming of Age in Aging America: Exploring the Social Impacts of an Aging Population
Streaming license ends: January 20, 2026. Director: Christine Herbes-Sommers. Distributor: Vital Pictures. 2017. 56 minutes. "What will it mean for all of us to grow up, live and age in a society where half the citizens are over the age of 50?... Never in human history have so many lived for so long... It is a global phenomenon, ushering a spectacular social transformation. COMING OF AGE IN AGING AMERICA tells the story of its dimensions, challenges and opportunities." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Digital Campus Top 1000 Collection
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to 1000 feature films, documentaries, foreign films, and television episodes from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

dis.art
produces and publishes original streaming series and documentaries by leading artists and thinkers about issues critical to all of us: the future of money and inequality; how the “liberal” and the “democratic” are pulling apart; post-nationality and citizenship; media theory in the age of trolling; the future of global food sustainability; the ethics of artificial intelligence; and the intersection of sexuality, race, and the environment, just to name a few. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room
Streaming license ends: February 9, 2026. running time: 1hr 49 mins. 2005. Director: Alex Gibney. Alex Gibney examines the rise and fall of an infamous corporate juggernaut. Academy Award nominee. Official Selection at the Sundance Film Festival. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Gender Matters: Transgender Youth
Streaming license ends October 5, 2024. Set of 5 videos. Tomboy by Donna Carter. Running time: 5 minutes. 1997. "Tomboy is an imaginative autobiographical account of an African American tomboy's journey to success and self-acceptance."
Eddie by Quentin Kruger. Running time: 10 mins. 2007. "... Eddie confronts her sexual and gender identities when an embarrassing moment forces her to step up to the plate."
The Bond by Michael T. Connell. Running time: 7 min. 2007. "... the father of a transgender child shares his family's story - what it was like when his child came out, how their relationship has changed and how their bond continues to strengthen."
Bikini by Lasse Persson. Running time: 7 min. 2007. "... animated musical... entertaining take on finding the courage and acceptance to express one's gender with honesty and style."
Two-Spirit People by Gretchen Vogel, Lori levy, Michel Beauchemin. Running time: 23 mins. 1991. "Two-Spirit People explores the berdache or "two-spirit" tradition in many Native American cultures, in which individuals who embody feminine and masculine qualities are understood as a third gender, beyond man and woman. "
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

HistoryMakers Digital Archive
The HistoryMakers Digital Archive contains over 2,000 interviews of distinguished African Americans in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Holding Ground: The Rebirth of Dudley Street
Streaming license ends August 4, 2024. Holding Ground Productions ; produced and directed by Leah Mahan & Mark Lipman. Published: [Harriman, NY] : New Day Films, 1996. Running Time: 1 hour. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

JoVE Unlimited
Provides 16,000+ videos illustrating key concepts, research techniques and experiments across multiple science disciplines. JoVE Unlimited access includes: ● JoVE Journal: Peer-reviewed journal with articles published in video and text format. ● JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments: Video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments. ● JoVE Science Education: A library of videos that illustrate research methods, concept application, and real-world examples. ● JoVE Lab Manual: Curriculum-focused video resources for commonly taught introductory labs with step-by-step instructions. ● JoVE Core: Video textbooks that bring introductory concepts and methods to life. ● JoVE Book: Digital book that explains scientific concepts and practices through video demonstrations, supplemented with in-depth text explanations and practice quizzes. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Legacies of Social Change: 100 Years of Professional Social Work in the United States
This video was produced in 2001 by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) and the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). Running Time: 53 minutes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4VzRSnksmA
The Mask You Live In
Streaming license ends 1/18/2025. (2015). Director: Jennifer Siebel Newsom; Studio: The Representation Project. Running Time: 1 hr 31 min. "... follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America’s narrow definition of masculinity. Pressured by the media, their peer group, and even the adults in their lives, our protagonists confront messages encouraging them to disconnect from their emotions, devalue authentic friendships, objectify and degrade women, and resolve conflicts through violence. These gender stereotypes interconnect with race, class, and circumstance, creating a maze of identity issues boys and young men must navigate to become “real” men. Experts in neuroscience, psychology, sociology, sports, education, and media also weigh in, offering empirical evidence of the “boy crisis” and tactics to combat it... ultimately illustrates how we, as a society, can raise a healthier generation of boys and young men." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Masters and Johnson Annual Lecture: Beyond the Gender Binary
Masters and Johnson Annual Lecture - 4th annual lecture: Beyond the Gender Binary. Lecture took place at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020. Alok Vaid-Menon is a gender expansiveness advocate, artist, and author. Vaid-Menon recently published the book “Beyond the Gender Binary” and uses art to approach themes of gender, belonging and the human condition. Organized by the Professional Development department in the Brown School and presented in partnership with the Brown School’s Sexual Health & Education Specialization. Video is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Out in the Night: Criminalization of Race, Gender Identity and Sexuality
Streaming license ends: September 26, 2024. Running Time: 77 minutes. 2014. Distributor: New Day Films. Filmmaker: Blair Dorosh-Walther. "Under the neon lights in a gay-friendly neighborhood of New York City, four young African-American lesbians are violently and sexually threatened by a man on the street. They defend themselves against him and are charged and convicted in the courts and in the media as a 'Gang of Killer Lesbians'." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Pruitt-Igoe Myth
Streaming license ends: Unkown. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Psychotherapy.net
Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Users can create clips and store them in the Video Library. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice as it is done by today's leading practitioners in North America. The database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
TED Talks
"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks." Covers hundreds of topics. https://www.ted.com/talks
Treasure: Hate Crimes Against the Transgender Community (also known as Treasure: From tragedy to transjustice, mapping a Detroit story)
Streaming license ends October 27, 2024. Running Time: 62 minutes. 2015. Filmmaker: Dream Hampton. "Shelly "Treasure" Hillard, a young African American transwoman, died violently in 2011. She is one of many, and this is her story. Director Dream Hampton does not shy away from the gruesome reality of Treasure's murder, but heart-wrenching interviews keep the focus on Treasure as a friend who conveyed "24-hour realness," as part of a vibrant local trans community and as a sister and daughter loved by a family that supported her living her truth. But hampton's deft hand also shows the viewer affirming safe spaces within the desolation of the city, such as the Ruth Ellis Center, where trans justice advocates and outreach workers teach classes and rally around each other to promote healing in the aftermath of a tragedy." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/
Young Lakota: A Native American Leader Fights for Reproductive Rights
Streaming license ends October 3, 2025. Running Time: 1 hour 23 minutes. 2013. "In this award-winning documentary, Cecilia Fire Thunder- the first female President of the Oglala Sioux tribe, defies a proposed South Dakota law criminalizing all abortions, with no exceptions for rape or incest, by threatening to build a women's clinic on the sovereign territory of the reservation. She ignites a political firestorm that sets off a chain reaction in the lives of three young Lakotas on the Pine Ridge Reservation, forcing each of them to make choices that define who they are and the kind of adults they will become." Director: Marion Lipschutz, Rose Rosenblatt, Heather Rae. License expires 10/3/2025. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Access to Kanopy Streaming Videos Currently Available to WUSTL
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Access to Digital Campus Streaming Videos Currently Available to WUSTL
Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.

Video/Multimedia in the Danforth/West Campus Libraries

Use the library catalog to search for CDs, DVDs, or VHS videocassettes. Consider requesting the item (approx. 4 business days to arrive at your pick-up location). The system will email you Ready for pick-up. Monitor the status of your request in My Catalog. Note: Some videos/multimedia cannot be requested. The Brown School Library has a VHS/DVD player.

Library Catalog to search for CDs, DVDs, videocassettes
https://spokane.wustl.edu/search~/
My Catalog for monitoring the status
https://spokane.wustl.edu/patroninfo
Video/Multimedia at the Danforth/West Campus Libraries
List of videos/DVDs in the Danforth/West campus libraries and also links to a list of videos/DVDs by genre.
Research Help: Find CDs, DVDs, Videos and More
Finding multimedia in the Danforth/West Campus Libraries. SCROLL down to the AUDIO AND VISUAL MATERIALS section. For DVDs, click on "Olin Library DVD List."

Interlibrary Loan for Video/Multimedia

Note: Streaming videos cannot be requested.
If WUSTL has the item, consider requesting it (approx. 4 business days to arrive at your pick-up location). The system will email you Ready for pick-up. Monitor the status of the request through My Catalog.

If WUSTL does not have the item, consider requesting the item through the MOBIUS system (approx. 4-7 business days to arrive at your pick-up location). The system will email you Ready for pick-up. Monitor the request's status through My Catalog.
If the video/multimedia item is available in the MOBIUS system, and you don't want to wait for it, you can visit the MOBIUS library and check out the item. Make sure to bring your Washington University ID card. NOTE: You cannot visit St. Louis County Library with your WUSTL ID. St. Louis County Library does not participate in the on-site MOBIUS visitor check-out program.
Return the MOBIUS item to any Danforth/West Campus library.
Note: MOBIUS audiovisuals/multimedia may not be renewed.

If neither WUSTL nor MOBIUS has your item, consider requesting it through the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan System. (NOTE: If your local public library has the video/multimedia item, you will have the item a lot faster if you visit your public library.) ILLiad items usually take 2-3 weeks to arrive. The system will email you Ready for pick-up. Monitor the status through your ILLiad account. Note: Many libraries do not lend video/multimedia items. Therefore, success rate varies.
Return ILLiad items to the Brown School Library or to Olin Library.

My Catalog to monitor the request
https://spokane.wustl.edu/patroninfo
Illiad Interlibrary Loan System for requesting an item
http://illiad.wustl.edu/illiad/logon.html
Your Illiad Account for monitoring the status
https://illiad.wustl.edu/illiad/logon.html
Interlibrary Loan Information from Olin Library
https://library.wustl.edu/services/interlibrary-loan/

Video/Multimedia - What Can I Show to Groups On-Campus

Information About Showing Movies, Films, Videos to a Group On-Campus
Helpful information if you want to show a movie, film, or video to a group on-campus. The Media Rights Guide Includes what types of rights you need and how to get permission.

Tutorial Videos on Library Topics

Tutorial Videos on Library Topics