A Social Work Research Guide

Issues and policy. Covers most African countries. Over 5000 open access books and documents. https://www.africaportal.org/

Database for African periodical literature and African women's literature. https://www.africabib.org/

https://www.afdb.org/en

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. https://agris.fao.org/

"AllAfrica Global Media is a multi-media content service provider and the largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide. Hundreds of free full text news stories." https://allafrica.com/

Focus is on encouraging economic growth, social development, and good governance, while promoting regional cooperation and integration in partnership with governments, the private sector, and nongovernment and international organizations. Goal is poverty reduction. Has a statistics section. https://www.adb.org/

American Society of International Law. "...relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law." "Table of Contents: Introduction to the Guide, European Union, Commercial Arbitration, Criminal Law, Economic Law, Environmental Law, Human Rights, Humanitarian Law, Intellectual Property Law, International Organizations, Private International Law, Treaties, United Nations..." https://www.asil.org/resources/electronic-resource-guide-erg

Washington University's Center for Social Development. "...conducts research that informs how individuals, families, and communities increase capacity, formulate and reach life goals, and contribute to the economy and society...Major areas of work include Asset Building and Civic Engagement & Service." https://csd.wustl.edu/

"...umbrella organization for social science data archives across Europe...enables users to locate datasets..." https://www.cessda.eu/

"...research is dedicated to reducing rural poverty, increasing food security, improving human health and nutrition, and ensuring more sustainable management of natural resources..." https://www.cgiar.org/

"...global resource for free information on essential skills for building healthy communities...more than 7,000 pages of practical guidance in creating change and improvement..." https://ctb.ku.edu/en

Expires 7-21-2024 for automatic linked search. The Economist produces EIU country reports which analyze the current political, policy, and economic trends in countries worldwide. The Political Science Database has many of the reports (2014 to 6 months ago). Search TITLE("country report") AND "economist intelligence unit" Limit to WUSTL subscriptions. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.

See the Africa and the International Affairs boxes on the subpage, "Freely Searchable Databases by Subject for Alumni." https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301116#s-lg-box-888610

Department of State visa section. https://travel.state.gov/content/visas/en.html

"...contains the official UN statistics used in monitoring the world’s progress towards the Millennium Development Goals." Archived. Newer is Sustainable Development Goals https://unstats.un.org/wiki/display/mdgs

From the United Nations. Sustainable Development Goals (SDG). https://unstats.un.org/sdgs/

Open access to articles, papers, and dissertations. Bibliography and links to resources. Focus on the commons (shared resources) such as forests, grazing, climate change, property rights, playgrounds, etc. https://dlc.dlib.indiana.edu/dlc/

"... promote inclusive and sustainable economic and social development in the Asia-Pacific region... achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals." Has publications and statistics. https://www.unescap.org

From the U.S. Department of State. Lists the websites. https://www.usembassy.gov/

Bibliography on Latin America by scholars. "Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress...Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities." Click to search or choose Resources tab for tables of contents. https://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/hlashome.html

United Nations. Current and archive. https://hdr.undp.org/reports-and-publications

https://www.fbi.gov/investigate/civil-rights/human-trafficking

International Monetary Fund. Free access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, etc. https://www.elibrary.imf.org/

"The Institute of Development Studies (IDS) is a leading global institution for development research, teaching and learning, and impact and communications, based at the University of Sussex." Many free full text documents. https://www.ids.ac.uk/research/publications/

"We support efforts by Latin America and the Caribbean countries to reduce poverty and inequality. We aim to bring about development in a sustainable, climate-friendly way...Besides loans, we also provide grants, technical assistance and do research. Our shareholders are 48 member countries, including 26 Latin American and Caribbean borrowing members..." https://www.iadb.org/en

IIED is one of the world’s most influential policy research organizations working at the interface between development and environment. https://www.iied.org/

Services and activities for international residents of St. Louis. https://www.iistl.org/

https://www.ilo.org/global/lang--en/index.htm

An intergovernmental website providing reports, papers, and other publications regarding migration, displacement, and refugee issues. https://www.iom.int/

United Nations. Current and archive. https://unctad.org/topic/vulnerable-economies/least-developed-countries/ldc-report

https://datatopics.worldbank.org/world-development-indicators/the-world-by-income-and-region.html

From the Migration Policy Institute. https://www.migrationpolicy.org/programs/migration-information-source

International Labour Standards Department, International Labour Organization. Covers 196+ countries. https://www.ilo.org/dyn/natlex/natlex4.home?p_lang=en

International statistical information. Click on statistics and browse the subcategories. https://www.oecd.org/

Population Trends, Education, Economic, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Reproductive Health. https://www.prb.org/resource-library/

"Our goal is to help you make sense of humanitarian crises worldwide..." https://reliefweb.int/

By the International Social Security Association (ISSA) in partnership with the U.S. Social Security Administration. https://ww1.issa.int/country-profiles

UNICEF. Current and archive. https://www.unicef.org/reports/state-of-worlds-children

For statistics, see the International Affairs box on the statistics subpage. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=46890&p=301062#s-lg-box-890025

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/us-visas/other-visa-categories/visas-for-victims-of-criminal-activity.html

A portal to more than 22 databases and statistical information compiled by the various agencies of the United Nations. https://data.un.org/

Promotes international cooperation in the fields of education, science, culture and communication. Publications and information. https://en.unesco.org/

Official UN documentation. https://www.un.org/en/our-work/documents

United Nations Human Settlements Programme promotes sustainable human settlements development. https://unhabitat.org/

https://www.uscis.gov/

U.S. foreign assistance. Includes full-text reports and statistics. https://www.usaid.gov/

WANGO - World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations. https://www.wango.org/resources.aspx?section=ngodir

This main page has links to research guides on international topics including: Chinese studies, East Asian Studies, European Studies, Islamic & Near Eastern Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, Latin American Studies, Russian Studies, and South Asian Studies. https://libguides.wustl.edu/index.php

Source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Cross-country, cross-sector, thematic research outputs. Information, analysis, and advice on global trends in the world economy. https://www.worldbank.org/en/home

https://datacatalog.worldbank.org/dataset/world-development-indicators

Country reports from the Central Intelligence Agency. Includes geography, people, government, economy, communications, and defense. https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/

"...is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence...were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis...applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized...also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions." https://www.dhs.gov/immigration-statistics/yearbook