Skip to main content

A Guide to East Asian Studies

Research Guide for East Asian Studies

Collection Development Policy

Washington University in St. Louis

Collection Development Policy

Library: East Asian Library & Olin Library

Subject: East Asian Studies 

Collection: General

Date Revised: April 29, 2014

Subject Librarian:Tony Chang
 

1. General purpose:

The East Asian Studies collection supports the teaching, learning, and research needs of the faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures, and various other departments and programs at Washington University, including Anthropology, Art and Art History, Comparative Literature, Economics, Film and Media Studies, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religious Studies. 

The East Asian Studies collection comprises materials in print and online; and in the English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language; including materials in general East Asian studies, and specifically in Chinese, Japanese, or Korean studies.  The Collection Development Policy for Chinese Studies, the Collection Development Policy for Japanese Studies, and the Collection Development Policy for Korean Studies are used as guidelines for developing Libraries’ collection in Chinese studies, Japanese studies, Korean studies, as well as in East Asian studies.  These policies are available at LibWorks.

Four fund groups in total are related to the East Asian Studies:

  • (-91016) East Asian Studies journals, databases, and approval plan:
  • (c91016)(j91016)
  • Acquire English and Western European language journals on general East Asian Studies/Asian Studies.
  • (d91016)
  • Acquire and gain access to electronic databases on general East Asian Studies/Asian Studies, (e.g. Bibliography of Asian Studies database).
  • (a91016)
  • Acquire monographs in English and Western European languages through YBP approval plan, in print or online.
  • (Monographs, which are not included in the approval plan, will be purchased by Chinese or Japanese studies subject librarian and used fc91016, fj91016, or fk91016 fund).
  • (-c91016) Chinese Studies.
  • (-j91016) Japanese Studies.
  • (-k91016) Korean Studies.
  • Subjects excluded


2. Subjects Excluded:

None

 

3. Overlap with other collections or subjects:

  • Main overlap areas are with:
    • Anthropology
    • Art and Art History
    • Comparative Literature
    • Economics
    • Film and Media Studies
    • Music
    • Philosophy
    • Political Science
    • Religious Studies
    • Women Studies
    • Law
  • In those areas, relevant units and subject librarians collaborate, but no attempts are made to strictly divide the responsibilities, so as to better serve the interests of faculty members and students and not to miss desirable items.

 

4. Languages included and excluded:

Materials are primarily collected in English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

 

5. Geographical limitations:

Areas collected intensively include all of China, Taiwan, Japan, and Korea.
 

 

6. Chronological limits:

None. 

 

7. Retrospective acquisition:

Chiefly current publications. 
 

8. Types of material collected and excluded:

  • Collected:
    • Print Monographs
    • Periodicals
    • Reference Works
    • Electronic Resources
    • Some microforms
      • ‚Äč Microforms are only considered when no other alternatives are possible. 
  • Audio-visual items are occasionally acquired as part of the East Asian Studies collection, but shelved in Olin Library.


 

9. Other factors to consider:

None
 

10. Subjects and Collecting Levels:
 

Please see Collection Development Policy for Chinese Studies, Collection Development Policy for Japanese Studies, and Collection Development Policy for Korean Studies at LibWorks.