Subject Librarian
Room #208
January Hall
Washington University in St. Louis
Off Campus Access
While many resources in this guide are openly available, several research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. Subscription-based databases, e-books and e-journals are marked with the "key" icon on this guide. See this page for help.
Finding Articles
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). BAS references primarily western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia, published since 1971. - Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
An index to literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship (books and articles) published throughout the world. Indexes material published from 1926-present. - Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for 10,000+ publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to 5,000+ journals. - Art and Humanities Citiation Index, via Web of Science (1988- )
- This link opens in a new window
(Part of Web of Science Core Collection) Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Print version for 1976-1985 in Olin Level 1 Reference: AI3 A63 - ConnectComplete (Ingenta)
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of 4,500,000+ citations from 9,500+ publications covering multiple disciplines, including Arts & Humanities and Social Sciences. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of 1,500+ academic journals, books, and primary sources. See http://www.jstor.org/action/collectionsAvailable for collections available at Wash U Libraries. - Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. - PrimoWashington University Libraries' discovery tool. Lets you search across many (but not all) journal indexes and databases, in addition to print holdings.
- A-Z DatabasesFind and learn about additional databases available through Wash U Libraries. (Access restrictions apply to most online databases listed there).
- Zasshikiji Sakuin Shusei Database (ざっさくプラス: 雑誌記事索引集成データベース)
- This link opens in a new window
Index to major to local periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, from 1868 to present. - CiNii ArticlesAcademic journals and bulletins. Use title, author, journal name or keywords to search Japanese academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
- NDL periodical index search (国立国会図書館雑誌記事索引検索)Academic AND popular magazines. Search the index of magazine/journal articles held at National Diet Library. This function is available through the NDL Search. Go to the "Advanced Search" tab and check ONLY the "NDL Periodical Index" box for the database. Search interface is also available in Japanese, Chinese (simplified) and Korean. (When using Japanese interface, go to the ”詳細検索" tab and tick "NDL雑誌記事索引").
- Database of Research Thesis in Japanese Literature (国文学論文目録データベース)A database of academic journal articles (including kiyo articles) and book chapters on Japanese literature, Japanese language and language pedagogy held at the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku Kenkyu Shiryokan).
- Bibliography of Oriental Studies (東洋学文献類目検索)Search bibliographic information of journal articles and books included in the Annual Bibliography of Oriental Studies (東洋学文献類目検索) published by the Center for Informatics in East Asian Studies, Institute for Research in Humanities at Kyoto University. Two publicly available databases combine to cover the contents of the 1934 first issue to the present.
- J-STAGE (Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic)J-STAGE hosts digital and digitized academic journals, academic society bulletins and research papers from Japan. The interface can be switched to English (top right hand corner).
- Kikanshi Netto (キカンシネット)Provides tables of contents of publications by public sector organizations, including アジア女性資料センター, 国際交流基金, and 日本翻訳連盟. Some organizations allow full-text access to articles.
- 20-seiki Media Joho Detabesu (20世紀メディア情報データベース) formerly Senryoki Zasshi Kiji Joho Detabesu (占領期雑誌記事情報データベース)Search the index database of magazine articles from the post-WWII occupation period (1945-1949). (The database has moved on to a fee-based model. Limited free trial search is available upon personal registration).
If full text of the article is available through the databases, a link to a PDF (or other electronic formats) appears on your search results. If you do not find full-text articles through the databases listed here, follow the steps below to look for print copies or althernate electronic editions. Wash U Libraries's collections may include a print or stand-alone electronic copy of the journal. (Many Japanese journals still come in print format. See also the list of Japanese journals currently received at the East Asian Library).
1. Gather as much information about the article (journal/magazine title, year of publication, volume, number, article title, pages, etc) from the index/databases.
2. Look up the journal/magazine title using the Classic Catalog. (See Find Books and Romanization pages for more tips).
3. If you find the journal at Wash U Libraries, follow the location(s) and call number to locate the physical copy (if print), or use the link provided on the Classic Catalog (if available electronically). Older issues of magazines and journals can be requested and/or checked out like regular books. If the journal is not held at Wash U, you can still request journal/magazine articles through Interlibrary Loan. (Sometimes Google Scholar provides free access to full-text articles as well).
How to find full-text articles
If you do not find full-text articles through the databases listed above, follow the steps below to look for print copies or althernate electronic editions. Wash U Libraries's collections may include a print or stand-alone electronic copy of the journal. (Many Japanese journals still come in print format. See also the list of Japanese journals currently received at the East Asian Library).
1. Gather as much information about the article (journal/magazine title, year of publication, volume, number, article title, pages, etc) from the index/databases.
2. Look up the journal/magazine title using the Classic Catalog.
3. If you find the journal at Wash U Libraries, follow the location(s) and call number to locate the physical copy (if print), or use the link provided on the Classic Catalog (if available electronically). Older issues of magazines and journals can be requested and/or checked out like regular books. If the journal is not held at Wash U, you can still request journal/magazine articles through Interlibrary Loan. (Sometimes Google Scholar provides free access to full-text articles as well).
Dissertations (Japanese)
- The National Diet Library Digital Collection (国立国会図書館デジタルコレクション) 1991-200014,000 titles of Japanese doctoral dissertations are available.
- JAIRO国内の機関リポジトリ内の学術情報（学術雑誌論文、博士論文、研究紀要、研究報告書等）を横断検索