Resources in University Archives
Primary sources are materials that were created by people who witnessed or were involved in events or during the time you are researching. They include items such as: diaries speeches company records photographs artifacts
University Archives is full of primary sources,
including the items listed below, and much more.
- University Records
This link opens in a new window
University Records consist of records created in campus departments and offices. This includes, but is not limited to, department files, chancellor official records, provost records, commencement, photo services, WU Memorabilia. - University Publications
- This link opens in a new window
Various documents, including The Hatchet yearbook, Student Life newspaper, campus telephone books, and more
- Papers and Documents from University Administrators and Faculty
- This link opens in a new window
including documents such as this Letter from William Greenleaf Eliot (University co-founder and Chancellor) to Reverend Hosmer, Feb. 14, 1834 or 1835. From the William Greenleaf Eliot Personal Papers, one of the oldest collections held by the archives.
Materials from the 20th and 21st centuries are also collected. Pictured here are documents from the Mary Hester Papers, a Social Work Professor
- Alumni Collections
- This link opens in a new window
Personal papers and memorabilia of alumni, such as this drawing of his home, by architect Harris Armstrong.
From the Harris Armstrong Papers, one of the many WUSTL alumni who donated materials from their professional life to the archives. - Student Groups Materials
- This link opens in a new window
Documents from student extra-curricular activities, such as dramatic clubs, musical groups, Greek organizations, and others.
1895 advertisement for "A Grain of Truth" from Thyrsus Collection, the Dramatic Club of Washington University. - St. Louis Related Collections
- This link opens in a new window
Records of organizations that are not directly affiliated with Washington University, especially documenting St. Louis political, business, social welfare, and architectural history. Pictured here is a map from the Harland Bartholomew and Associates (HBA) Collection.
Primary Sources: Documenting the Past
