Eliot, a Unitarian Minister, co-founded Washington University and was involved in many social justice and reform efforts including: children's social welfare, the abolition of slavery, ending prostitution, and a temperance advocate (anti-alcohol).

See Series 1, Box 3 for files "Crime and Delinquency Statistics, 1934-1946" and "Lee Baker Fund, 1939 - Correspondence and newspaper clippings re: fund for victim of a murder attempt who was to be state witness in a gangster bombing"

Series 5, Box 5 includes newspaper clippings and correspondence about the 1942 lynching crime that occurred in Sikeston, Missouri -- see file "Ant-Lynching League"

St. Louis crime newspaper from circa 1950 - present (available at Special Collections - issues are not online)

Contains full text of the newspaper St. Louis post-dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants.

Located in Olin Library, Level A Microforms (Periodicals)

1901-1912 St. Louis periodical

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Database offers full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles daily times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles times (1886-1989). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Starting with the Freedom`s Journal in 1827 and continuing in chronological order... this database will ultimately contain the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th Century

Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Beginning with Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.

Full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865

Contains the full text of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912,