The ACLU of Missouri has placed their archives at Washington University. In numerous cases the ACLU-MO worked on topics related to religion and civil rights. *Some materials in this collection are restricted, and Archive staff can help you with this if there are materials you would want to see.*

Student Committee for the Admission of Negroes (SCAN) scrapbook detail the activities of SCAN as they sought to persuade the Washington University administration to allow African American students admission to undergraduate studies.

Tom Miles and his wife Audrey Miles were activists for LGBTQ rights. Included in their records are are full issues of Bondings, a publication dedicated to positive relations between the Catholic Church and the LGBT community. Correspondence captured includes e-mails discussing the removal of a priest from Miles' church, PFLAG (St. Louis Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays), and other LGBT activism.

Includes local and national periodicals, conference and task force publications, buttons, t-shirts, photographs, and posters related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community of Greater St. Louis. Includes some periodicals from Metropolitan Community Church of Greater St. Louis.

(Southeast Missouri "bootheel" region - sharecropping, flood control, farming, New Deal policies, and more)

Muriel and Ralph Pumphrey were former WUSTL Social Work professors who studied the history of Social Work and Social Services extensively. Their collection includes many subjects, and includes publications from United Church of Christ.

Compton was a Nobel prize-winning physics professor and WU Chancellor (1945 - 1953). In December 1949 he was one of several University chancellors who attended the "India-America Relations Conference" in New Delhi, India. In 1950 Compton presided over an assembly at UNESCO House in Paris to create the "World Brotherhood" organization, in cooperation with the National Conference of Christians and Jews.

See folders in Series 02, Box 13 for documents related to these programs, including conference agendas, speeches, travel documents, and so on. Also included are various publications collected by Compton, dating from circa 1945-1956 related to India, Pakistan, and the region, such as "Report on the Session of the 1st Conference for the Indian National Commission for Co-operation with UNESCO, April 9-10, 1949.

The paper's of Professor Bolef (a former WU physicist and social activist) includes activism against the Vietnam War and related US military draft (See Series 6 and 7). Includes publications by American Friends Service Committee, and other religious groups opposed to the war.

Full-text. 'The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) started in 1967 with six Vietnam veterans marching for peace. This publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.' (from database homepage)

Missouri State Archives

Lindenwood University Archives

Archives of the Presbyterian Church (PCA), St. Louis

Central Methodist University