It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Searching BGMI will enable you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. In cases where BGMI provides multiple listings for the same person, you can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing.
"Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!"
Provides short biographical information on 5.49 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present.' (from database homepage) Note that the WU Libraries subscribe only to the index, not to the full-text articles.
Search the Dictionary of National Biography
Finding Biographical Monographs
To find book-length biographies, use Washington University Libraries' catalog. Enter the name of the individual (last name first) as a subject.
You may also enter a profession and then locate the catalog entries under [Profession] -- Biography.