This authoritative dictionary provides concise and informative entries across the whole field of linguistics. Coverage includes the areas of grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages, dialects, and sociolinguistics.
"rings together state-of-the-art reviews of reading research from leading names in the field, to create a highly authoritative, multidisciplinary overview of contemporary knowledge about reading and related skills."
"includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries; coverage reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistcs and psycholinguistic, making it exceptionally comprehenisve; incorporates new ideas stemming from the minimalist program; contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols, along with an updated International Phonetic Alphabet; and updates entries to reflect the way established terms are now perceived in light of changes in the field, providing a unique insight into the historical development of linguisitcs."
This volume provides an up-to-date and comprehensive reference guide to the key concepts, ideas, movements and trends of applied linguistics for language teaching. With over 300 entries of varying length, the volume includes essential coverage of language, language learning and language teaching. Written in an accessible style, the entries draw attention to the practical teaching implications of the ideas under discussion, and contain selected bibliographical information for further guided reading
"A comprehensive sourcebook on normal and nonnormal child language development. All aspects of the subject are addressed, including phonetics, phonology, grammar, and lexical development. Connectionism and government-binding theory, as applied to language development, are fully represented. The relevance of input, cognition, and social factors to language development is explored. Chapters on methodology, particularly using computer databases, are provided for both normal and nonnormal acquisition."
"The ability to analyze transcripts of child language with the help of computers has provided researchers with a means for conducting analyses which were previously too difficult or time-consuming to perform. This edited volume offers examples of such research in action as well as tutorials for the creative application of the tools provided by the Child Language Data Exchange System (CHILDES)"
"The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics is the first reference of its kind, containing forty original chapters on a broad range of topics in applied linguistics by a diverse group of contributors. Its goal is to provide a comprehensive survey of the current state of the field, the manyconnections among its various sub-disciplines, and the likely directions of its future development. The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics addresses a broad audience: applied linguists; educators and other scholars working in language acquisition, language learning, language planning, teaching,and testing; and linguists concerned with applications of their work. Early applied linguistics was predominantly associated with language-teaching. While this relationship continues, the field has long since diversified, becoming increasingly inter-related and multi-disciplinary. The volume addresses the diversity of questions facing applied linguists today: What isthe place of applied linguistics in the architecture of the university? Where does applied linguistics fit into the sociology of knowledge? What are the questions that applied linguistics ought to be addressing? What are the dominant paradigms guiding research in the field? What kinds of problemscan be solved through the mediation of applied linguistics? What aspects of linguistics can be empirically applied to language-based problems, and what spaces resist such application? What will new students of applied linguistics need to know in the coming years? Systematically encompassing the major areas of applied linguistics-and drawing from a wide range of disciplines such as education, language policy, bi- and multi-lingualism, literacy, language and gender, psycholinguistics/cognition, language and computers, discourse analysis, language andconcordinances, ecology of language, pragmatics, translation, psycholinguistics and cognition, and many other fields-the editors and contributors to The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics provide a panoramic and comprehensive look at this complex and vigorous field."
"International experts contribute 38 chapters covering major concepts, methods, and applications for computational linguistics. The handbook provides a current reference on the field for use by a wide range of linguists as well as researchers and students in artificial intelligence, infomatics, language engineering, translation, and cognitive science. Structured with a progression from theory to application, the handbook begins with the main areas of linguistics and varied topics in mathematical linguistics. The book then covers the tasks, methods, and resources in and required for automatic language processing. Later chapters cover real-world applications of computational linguistics techniques. The book is cross-referenced and includes a glossary"