Subject Guide
Resources
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) (1970 - ) This link opens in a new windowMillions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings, covering all engineering disciplines.
- GeoRef (1933 - ) This link opens in a new windowOver 3 million American Geological Institute records, including abstracts, about geology and earth sciences. Updated biweekly. Learn more about this database
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowInformation covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
- SciFinder-n (1907 - ) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. Sources include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Learn more about this database. NOTE: requires user registration. Follow this link to register using your “@wustl.edu” email address - Registration for SciFinder. Learn about using this database off campus
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Search for books using Washington University Libraries' catalog.
Search for Journals and eJournals:
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowOver 2,800 major science and technical reference books and databases from major sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons and Elsevier.
- CRCnetBASE This link opens in a new windowOver 5,000 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. NOTE that the Libraries subscribe to most but not all the full-text content found on this site. Topics covered include the biomedical sciences, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, engineering, environmental science, ergonomics and human factors, food science, forensics and criminal justice, healthcare, information technology, life science, material science, math, medicine, nutrition, pharmaceutical science and regulation, physics, and statistics.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTIS/NTRL) This link opens in a new windowOnline library of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports, acquired, indexed, and archived by the National Technical Information Service. Contains over 2 million titles with links to over 600,000 full-text reports (in PDF). Note: Search to Public NTRL is free but in order to display a full text document you would need to register. Registration is free but Terms and Conditions of use need to be signed.
- Data.gov'The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.'
- Department of Energy CollectionsFind research results and science information from the Manhattan Project to the present, download full text documents and view citations at SciTech Connect, discover patents and e-prints, read about ongoing DOE accomplishments, search multimedia, science conference proceedings, scientific research data, and software, as well as customized resources.
- National Library of EnergyGateway to information across Department of Energy, provides access to all Science Accelerator content and more.
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image LibrarySearch U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups.
Engineering standards are documentation of engineering practices. These include rules, techniques, and conditions for engineering design, industrial practices, units of measurement, terminology, etc. Committees, affiliated with societies or organizations, and made up of specialists from universities and industry write standards. All design engineers rely on standards for guidance and to give authority to their work.
Standards can be mandatory or voluntary. Think of standards as rules for uniformity, size, quality, performance, shape, definition and testing methodology of manufactured products.
Washington University Libraries does not actively maintain a standards collection. If you need a standard, contact Lauren Todd to order the requested standard.
- All Standards On FileThis is the most current list of standards on file with the engineering librarian. Please contact Lauren Todd for more information
- IHS Global Standards StoreSearch standards here and email librarian for purchase via libraries deposit account.