The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG® represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.
"This two-volume reference contains 650-plus alphabetically arranged, signed entries which focus on various aspects of human bondage in all its forms throughout the ages. An introduction offers a historical overview and identifies the common threads that run through the slave systems of fundamentally different cultures. Entries, most about a page (two-column format), discuss general themes (e.g. women and slavery in Islam) as well as important incidents (e.g. Amistad) and individuals. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading and cross references; some contain b&w illustrations. The same five maps are included in both volumes, and a subject index is included in volume II; but a theme encyclopedia such as this should include more materials that give access to the contents in useful ways, e.g. a timeline, a chronology of individuals, and a classification of events. The bibliography is extensive, but not classified."
"Eminent scholars provide an overview of what we now know about slavery as an institution and way of life in cultures around the globe from ancient times to the present day. Drawing on the virtual explosion of empirical research and theoretical discussion on the subject over the past thirty years, many of the articles overturn conventional wisdom and illuminate little-known aspects of the subject, with essays on topics such as concubinage, eunuchs, and occupational mobility."
The standard English-language dictionary of the classical world. Includes extensive bibliographic references. It provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.