Subject Librarian
Room #208
January Hall
Washington University in St. Louis
Off Campus Access
While many resources in this guide are openly available, several research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. Subscription-based databases, e-books and e-journals are marked with the "key" icon on this guide. See this page for help.
Finding Articles
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). BAS references primarily western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia, published since 1971. - Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for 10,000+ publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to 5,000+ journals. - ConnectComplete (Ingenta)
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of 4,500,000+ citations from 9,500+ publications covering multiple disciplines, including Arts & Humanities and Social Sciences. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of 1,500+ academic journals, books, and primary sources. See http://www.jstor.org/action/collectionsAvailable for collections available at Wash U Libraries. - Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. - PrimoWashington University Libraries' discovery tool. Lets you search across many (but not all) journal indexes and databases, in addition to print holdings. (Tip: Primo can search inside DBpia, too).
- A-Z DatabasesFind and learn about additional databases available through Wash U Libraries. (Access restrictions apply to most online databases listed there).
Internet Explorer is recommended for using the following databases and websites.
- KISS (KoreanStudies Information Service System)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in Korean. KISS contents can be searched through the E-Korean Studies Databases as well. - E-Korean Studies Databases (EKS)
- This link opens in a new window
One stop search for ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, lectures, official documents, reports, and images in a variety of subject areas such as languages, history, philosophy, literature, etc. - Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Web of Science can search within KCI Korean Journal Database. (KCI is also available standalone. See below). - Korean Citation IndexCitation index of Korean journals.
- RISS 학술연구정보서비스Hosted by the Korea Education and Research Information Service (한국교육학술정보원; KERIS). Provides access to full-text scholarly articles through searchable databases. Some services require registration.
- National Library of Korea국립중앙도서관 Use the catalog search or discovery tool to search academic journal articles and thesis published in South Korea. (The same search is also available on http://www.dibrary.net/).
- National Assembly Library국회도서관 Thesis published after 1945 and academic journals published after 1910 can be searched.
- PaperSearch 학술논문검색사이트(We recommend trying KISS first, to which we have a subscription. See above. KISS covers mostly the same resources as PaperSearch, plus a few thousand articles not available through PaperSearch). Provides search and full text access to thesis and academic papers published by academic organizations and institutions. Some service require registration. Registration and payment are required to access to the full text.
If full text of the article is available through the databases, a link to a PDF (or other electronic formats) appears on your search results. If you do not find full-text articles through the databases listed here, follow the steps below to look for print copies or althernate electronic editions. Wash U Libraries's collections may include a print or stand-alone electronic copy of the journal. Please note all Korean-language journal holdings at Wash U libraries are electronic. If the databases listed in the Articles in Korean tab do not provide full text access to the article you need, we may be able to retrieve it through interlibrary loan (ILL). See #3 below.
1. Gather as much information about the article (journal/magazine title, year of publication, volume, number, article title, pages, etc) from the index/databases.
2. Look up the journal/magazine title using the Classic Catalog. (See Find Books page for more tips).
3. If you find the journal at Wash U Libraries, follow the location(s) and call number to locate the physical copy (if print), or use the link provided on the Classic Catalog (if available electronically). Older issues of magazines and journals can be requested and/or checked out like regular books. If the journal is not held at Wash U, you can still request journal/magazine articles through Interlibrary Loan. (Sometimes Google Scholar provides free access to full-text articles as well).