Skip to main content

A Guide to Korean Studies

Guides to Korean Studies resources available at WUSTL Libraries and on the World Wide Web.

Finding Books

*** You can use Hangul, Romanized Korean and English to search the library catalogs listed below (other than the Korean studies databases). However, note that each has its own way of handling East Asian characters and variations in Romanization. (And they can be very picky!) Libraries and librarians also use modified McCune-Reischauer Romanization rules to catalog books in Korean, which could be different from how Korean words are Romanized in everyday use. (And yes, we are very picky, too!) A guide to Romanization rules are linked at the bottom of this page. Please feel free to consult the librarian in charge of the Korean Studies collection if you encounter any difficulties finding Korean books and materials.

Explore & discover: Try Primo. If you are looking for books to read on a certain topic, try the discovery tool Primo. Primo searches books indexed in select bibliographies, in addition to books held at Wash U Libraries. You can also explore Wash U Libraries' collections with the Classic Catalog, using Subject Headings.

Particular title: If you know what book you are looking for, follow the steps below to find the book.

1. Washington University library Classic Catalog
Start here. Our growing collection of Korean language materials is particularly strong in Literature and related areas. We also have select reference books in our reference collection, including language dictionaries and usage guides and specialized dictionaries and who’s who guides. In addition, Olin Library has a collection of Korean Studies books in English, and some audiovisual items.

2. Korean Studies databases: e-Korean Studies Database and DBpia
We subscribe to several Korean studies databases. Their strength lies mostly in electronic journals, but full text access to select e-book titles and chapters, as well as digitized classics may be available through e-Korean Studies Database or DBpia. Both online services require an on-campus use or proxy login.

3. MOBIUS catalog
If the title you are looking for is not in our collection, try MOBIUS. With MOBIUS you can search and request books and other materials held at other university and public libraries in Missouri. Books usually come in 3-7 days.

4. WorldCat
If no other Missouri libraries have the title, either, you may have a better luck with WorldCat. If other WorldCat-affiliated libraries have the item, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL) through ILLiad. Books and other physical materials usually arrive in 1-2 weeks. (Follow the Send Request to ILLiad link on the result screen).

Additional Resources

Loading

E-books/E-texts