Skip to main content

Japan 520: Practicum in Literary Translation

Reference for Japanese Literature in Print

General

Nihon bungaku daijiten [日本文学大辞典]
EAsia Reference  PL741 .N54 2000

 

Nihon bungaku sakuhinmei yomikata jiten[日本文学作品名よみかた辞典].
EAsia Reference  PL707 N526 1988

 

Jidaibetsu Nihon bungakushi jiten [時代別日本文学史事典]
EAsia General Stacks  PL707 J53


Nihon kindai bungaku meicho jiten [日本近代文学名著事典]
EAsia Reference  Z3308 L5 N485

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Modern

Nihon kindai bungaku daijiten [日本近代文学大辞典]
EAsia Reference  PL726.55 N55

 

Nihon gendai bungaku daijiten [日本現代文学大事典]
EAsia Reference  PL726.55 N48 1994

Sakka shōsetsuka jinmei jiten [作家・小説家人名事典]
EAsia Reference  PL723 S325 1990

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Diaries

Nikki bungaku jiten [日記文学事典]
EAsia Reference  PL741 .N54 2000
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Japanese Literature in Translation

EAsia Reference  Z3308 L5 J35 1997
EAsia Reference  Z3308 L5 K66 1979
EAsia Reference  Z3308 T7 N5

Japan Knowledge

JapanKnowledge Lib (Available for WUSTL on-campus and proxy login users)

Cross-search major Japanese encyclopedias and dictionaries including:

日本大百科全書 (ニッポニカ), デジタル大辞泉, 数え方の辞典, 情報・知識 imidas, 現代用語の基礎知識,
JK Who's Who, 日本人名大辞典, 会社四季報,
プログレッシブ英和中辞典, ランダムハウス英和大辞典, プログレッシブ和英中辞典, Web版・最新英語情報辞典,
Encyclopedia of Japan, COBUILD英英辞典, CAMBRIDGE英英辞典,
誰でも読める日本史年表
 
Database specific pages for:

The following are part of the JapanKnowledge package, but available as standalone databases. We share one (1) simultaneous access with 10 other universities for those. If your login fails, please check back at a later time. Also, as a courtesy to users in other institutions, please log off by clicking the "logout" button on the top right corner when you are done. 

Kokushi Daijiten (国史大辞典): The dictionary of Japanese history
Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei (日本歴史地名大系): The dictionary of Japanese historical place names

Dictionaries

English-Japanese Dictionaries

英辞郎

怒涛の翻訳例辞書

Furigana Ei-Wa jiten =ふりがな英和辞典
EAsia Reference PL679 K67 1996

Kenkyusha's new English-Japanese dictionary =硏究社新英和大辞典
EAsia Reference PL679 .K39 2002

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Japanese-English Dictionaries

    Kenkyusha's new Japanese-English dictionary = 硏究社新和英大辞典
    EAsia Reference PL679 .K4 2003

    New Nelson Japanese-English character dictionary
    EAsia Reference PL679 .N4 1997

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Japanese Dictionaries

    Kōjien / Shinmura Izuru hen (Dai 6-han) = 広辞苑 (第6版)
    EAsia Reference PL675 .S5 2008 

    Nihon kokugo daijiten = 日本国語大辞典 Also available as part of Japan Knowledge
    EAsia Reference PL675 .N46 2000

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Kanji Dictionraries

    Dai Kan-Wa jiten =大漢和辞典
    EAsia Reference PL1425 M6

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Japanese Proverbs and Idioms

    The Japanese Page: Kotowaza & Sayings

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Online Dictionaries

    goo Jisho (goo辞書)

    三省堂 WebDictionary

    Yahoo! 辞書

    DictJuggler.net (multi-search)

    辞典横断検索 Metapedia (multi-search)

    Infoseek Multi-dictionary (Infoseekマルチ辞書)

    Jim Breen's Dictionaries

      ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Others

        gooベビー こども語辞書

        Encyclopedias