Islamic Studies Librarian
Welcome to the guide for Learning Arabic!
The goal of this guide is to assist students studying Arabic as well as instructors teaching the language. The WU Libraries regularly acquire books, journals, and online resources related to the Arabic language and language learning.
See the side menu for
- Websites dedicated to Arabic use and language learning
- Tools and strategies for Searching Arabic Resources
- Teaching Resources to enhance language instruction
- Materials specifically related to Arabic Calligraphy
If you can't find what you need, please don't hesitate to ask.
Browse WU Library holdings related to Arabic language study and learning.
Arabic language print collections at WashU Libraries
General
Arabic language books and bound journals are located in the Middle Eastern Languages section on Level B of Olin Library. They can be browsed physically or through an Advanced Catalog search limited to Language: Arabic.
Recent periodicals and newspapers in Arabic can be found in the periodicals section on Level A of Olin Library.
Special Collections
There are limited items in Special Collections in Arabic language. They can be browsed through a catalog search limited to Location: Special Collections and Language: Arabic.
Digital Arabic Resources at WashU Libraries
- Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library This link opens in a new windowEarly Arabic Printed Books from the British Library is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
- Early Western Korans (on BRC) This link opens in a new windowThis remarkable collection demonstrates the impact of the holy book of Islam in Europe. Long before printing with movable type became common practice in the Islamic world, Korans had been printed in Arabic type in several European cities. The collection includes Korans and Koran translations, printed between 1537 and 1857, and is of interest to book historians, theologians, philologists, and scholars of Islamic Studies alike.