Empire Online contains over 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material from 1492-1962 pertaining to the British empire. It is an excellent source for primary documents on the British colonization in Argentina, Central America, and the Caribbean -- though it is not limited to these regions. Search by "View Names"  "View Topics" or by "View Places."

   Some links from the "View Places" index.                                             Some links from the "View Topics" index

    Guatemala   Argentina   Bahamas**    Barbados**  Panama                    Indigenous Peoples   Emancipation

 Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Part I  This archive deals primarily with documents, books and newspapers pertaining to slavery in the United States. However, there is also a selection of material on the Caribbean and Latin America that can be pulled out.

•  I suggest doing an Advanced Search.  Select the field/s Geographic Subject or Title and type in terms such as --Latin America, Cuba, Brazil.
• You can also use the Browse By Title list to discover documents.


The Making of the Modern World Presents more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. In almost 12 million pages, it focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense.

• use the same search suggestions suggested for Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
• Haiti--History--Revolution, 1791-1804
• Latin America--Discovery and exploration
• Slaves--Emancipation--West Indies, British

 Eighteenth Century Collections Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with full-text searching of material; in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

• Go to Advanced Search - input words as Subjects or Titles of documents i.e, Peru, Treatment of Indians

 Early English Books Online Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

• Go to Advanced Search - use the Subject book after selecting terms from the Subject List


Latin American Travelogues The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries at Brown University. Digitized books are linked to essays written by undergraduate students. Select a book chapter of interest as a primary source.