Skip to main content

Zotero

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Adding references to your Zotero library

There are a number of ways to add items to your Zotero:

Importing from online databases: Catalogs

Straightforward, automatic capture:

 WU Classic Catalog, WorldCat (both versions), MOBIUS, JSTOR, EBSCO, CSA, Google Books, Google Scholar, Amazon

Use item identifiers, archive web page, or manual addition techniques:
Becker Catalog. Zotero frequently adds new "site translators" so watch for icons in the location bar. They may appear one day.

Zotero compatible sites

Some issues to watch out for when adding items from catalogs:

  • Did all the authors, editors, translators, etc. come through as the appropriate role?
  • If you will be using the call numbers in the future, did the full call number come through, or did it truncate? Did the location come through as well?
  • Check how Zotero transferred subject headings or keywords into tags.
  • Colons in titles require the extra space before the colon to be removed.
  • Test with bibliography creation in your favorite formats before you save too many citation.

Importing from online databases

Many of our databases work very well with Zotero.  Automatic capture is NOT available for multisearch, quicksearch or the Find it! interface. 
 
Automatic capture bibliographic information is enabled from Get it! buttons.

Zotero compatible sites

Some issues to watch for when adding items from databases:

  • Complete author names if you get only initials
  • Volume/issue information appears in correct fields
  • Correct page ranges appear
  • Keywords or descriptors transfer appropriately into tags.

  Enabling the WU Get It! button for the databases:

snapshot advanced features to add for open url