"Looking for books guaranteed to grab the attention and interest of boys? Dip into this guide for a wealth of ideas. Best Books for Boys is designed to help librarians, teachers, and parents find fiction and nonfiction titles that will be both interesting and motivating for young male readers. The 500 entries are organized by genre, each with a brief plot summary, indication of reading level, and complete bibliographic information." (2008)
"Eight teachers relate their experiences in teaching great books on abuse and recovery, political struggles, spiritual journeys, cultural survival, and other subjects of interest to high school students. The book concludes with an annotated list of about 400 titles, including novels, nonfiction, drama, memoirs, and poetry, mainly drawn from adult literature."
"Geared to elementary readers, this resource and time-saver introduces users to some 1,200 of today's best and most popular fiction series appropriate for elementary readers. For each series an annotation describes the series' appeal and lists characters, location, the original publisher, the range of dates over which the series was published, genre, and grade level range. A numbered list of titles in the series follows."
"Geared to readers in middle and high school, this resource and time-saver introduces users to today's best and most popular fiction series. The authors provide an annotation for each series that describes its appeal and lists characters, location, the original publisher, the range of dates over which the series was published, genre, and grade level range."
"Facts and pictures about contemporary authors and illustrators of books for young people." An ongoing series featuring autobiographical, biographical, and bibliographical information about children's authors and illustrators.
"Describing and evaluating more than 1,000 publications, the book covers the entire spectrum of information sources in the field - from general reference, bibliographies, and biographies to review sources, literary awards, professional organizations, and special library collections."
"The Essential Guide to Children's Books and Their Creators introduces you to the wealth of children's literature by focusing on the essentials - the best books for children, the ones that inform, impress, and, most important, excite young readers. Updated with 100 new essays to include newcomers such as J. K. Rowling and Lemony Snicket and to cover the very latest on publishing and educational trends."
"[T]he Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator...."
U.S. Government Resources on Children and Childhood
"This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health. The Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect and report data on conditions and trends for children and families."
"The National Children’s Study will examine the effects of the environment, as broadly defined to include factors such as air, water, diet, sound, family dynamics, community and cultural influences, and genetics on the growth, development, and health of children across the United States, following them from before birth until age 21 years."
"The Children's Bureau seeks to provide for the safety, permanency and well being of children through leadership, support for necessary services, and productive partnerships with States, Tribes and communities."
A collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database,the Britannica Book of the Year, and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Includes the contents of World Almanac and Book of Facts, the World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and the World Almanac for Kids. Print copies of the World Almanac and Book of Facts and the World Almanac of U.S. Politics are also available.