The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.
Contains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
Art & Architecture Dictionaries: The Premium Collection brings together over 100 key Oxford subject dictionaries and reference works into a single cross-searchable resource. To search all reference works: go to Subjects and Books-Advanced Search.
(1929 - present) Covers over 600 art periodicals, with full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals beginning in 1997. Indexes articles and art reproductions from and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Updated monthly.
(1973-Present) Covering art history from late antiquity to the present, this database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 1,200 journals.
This database provides a comprehensive and updated set of the published literature on the anthropology of Mesoamerica. It is produced in collaboration by the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI).
Contains extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars in their respective field of expertise. Recommended introductory resource for any topic in art history. Available online through Oxford Art Online.
Database of over 100,000 abstracts related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. From the Getty Conservation Institute in association with The International Institute for Conservation of Historical and Artistic Works.
On online library dedicated to Mesoamerican archaeology, designed to promote appreciation, understanding, and knowledge about archaeology and the preservation and interpretation of cultural resources, both prehistoric and historic.
Find collected scholarly files, links, resources, software and reports relevant or interesting to Mesoamerican and Pre-Columbian Archaeology. There is a collection of Maya calendar programs, as well as collected documents and arguments about unsubstantiated claims of transoceanic contact with the Americas.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History from 20,000 BCE to the Present. Includes thematic essays, world maps, and works of art index for the over 6,000 objects from the Met's collections featured on the timeline.