GIS Outreach / Anthropology Librarian
Ted Chaffin
Contact:
Anthropology Librarian
Office Phone: 1-314-935-6003
Email: tchaffin@wustl.edu
Office Phone: 1-314-935-6003
Email: tchaffin@wustl.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Psychology
Mental Health
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)'s National Mental Health Information CenterA joint website of SAMSHA and DHHS. Provides information on a variety of mental health issues with evidence-based practice guidelines. A dictionary is included. The site is available in English and Spanish.
Specialized Sources
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends.
- Science.govSearches "over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information." Broad topical coverage. https://www.science.gov/
- World Environment LibraryThe World Environment Library contains 400 publications (45,000 pages) of ideas and solutions in the fields of Agriculture, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Environmental Impact Assessment, Energy, Health, Natural Resources, Policy, Sustainable Development, Waste Management and Water.
Cancer
- National Cancer InstituteComprehensive cancer information from the NIH.
Maternal Health
- Maternal and Child Health LibraryAccurate, timely information from across the MCH spectrum to assist states, communities, professionals, and families.
- Population Reference BureauThe “datafinder” section allows users to select a country or set of country and view data on population trends, education, the environment, and reproductive health issues among other topics. It also allows users to select by state within the U.S.
- Population, Health & Nutrition database from USAIDThis database provides information on child survival, family planning, HIV/AIDS prevention, infectious disease control, and maternal health for most countries around the world.
- Save the ChildrenSearch for the “State of the World’s Mothers” report from 2006 and 2007 on the website of this international NGO.
Malaria
- Global Health FactsThis website, sponsored by the Kaiser Family Foundation, provides statistics and information about malaria, HIV/AIDS, and tuberculosis by country as well as information about demographics, funding, and risk factors.
- Mapping Malaria Risk in AfricaThe “maps” section of the website for this international collaborative shows maps of the risk distribution, seasonality, and populations affected by malaria among other maps.
- President’s Malaria Initiative (PMI)Country profiles provide a summary and statistical overview of malaria in the countries of sub-Saharan Africa that are a focus of the PMI. Country operational plans describe what actions are being undertaken by the PMI to combat malaria in the country.
- Roll Back Malaria PartnershipThe “country action” section of this website allows users to select a country and get an overview with statistics of the malaria situation in the country. The website also posts news reports about malaria and efforts to control malaria.