Skip to main content

Freshman Seminar: James Bond in Film, Literature and Popular Culture

Film & Media 118 - Prof. C. Burnett

NOTICE ABOUT THIS GUIDE

NOTICE- Zotero makes periodic updates which sometimes alter its appearance. Screenshots in this guide may not reflect all version modifications.  If images differ, consult Zotero.org.

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. 

Take a look at what you can do with Zotero:

  1. Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.
  2. Import citations from databases and the WU Catalog
  3. Add searchable notes and tags to citations; attach pdf's if desired
  4. Quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA...)
  5. Automatically manage in-text citations in Microsoft Word or LibreOffice/OpenOffice
  6. Easily share references with others

Getting Started with Zotero and ZoteroBib

Option 1

Zotero Standalone desktop applicaton:

  1. Download and install Zotero (This is a two-step process: 1) Download the PC or Mac application, and 2) download the appropriate browser connector:  Firefox, Chrome, Opera, or Safari)
  2. Register for a free zotero.org account (enables syncing and sharing).
  3. Sync your Zotero account with the Zotero Standalone application you just downloaded.
    1. Within Zotero click on Actions (gear icon), then select Preferences.
    2. Select the Sync tab and enter your Zotero account username and password.
  4. Add citations to Zotero
  5. Create bibliographies
  6. Organize your research
  7. Share and collaborate

Option 2

ZoteroBib - Requires no account or software installation and provides a quick, reliable tool for creating one-off bibliographies. ZoteroBib enables you to build bibliographies in a variety of citaton styles and format basic in-text citations. You may re-use and edit bibliography you create--it will remain available in your browser until you clear it.

Not sure which to use? 

The Zotero/ZoteroBib website offers guidance for choosing the option that is best for you.

Research Studio Handout