Skip to main content

Women and Popular Culture at the Modern Graphic History Library

A guide to women in pop culture resources at MGHL

Getting Started

This page provides basic information about how to find resources and begin your research at MGHL. For more detailed information about types of materials and images you'll find in particular collections, see the "MGHL Collections" tab.

Finding Aids

A finding aid is a detailed guide that describes an archival collection and its contents. Looking through a finding aid will give you an idea of what kind of materials are in a particular collection.

  • Browse all of the MGHL finding aids
  • Search all of the MGHL finding aids (best if you have something specific in mind, such as "Ladies' Home Journal" or "fashion")

LUNA

Our image database, LUNA, contains thousands of digitized images from our collections, and includes many relevant to women in pop culture. You can access LUNA by using your WUSTL key to log in. (If you are not affiliated with Washington University and are interested in accessing images, please use the information in the sidebar to the left to contact us.) To learn more about using LUNA, see this tutorial.

Digital Exhibits

Below are links to MGHL's digital exhibits dedicated to women in popular culture. To see all of MGHL's digital exhibits, check the Digital Galleries & Exhibits page on our website.

This online exhibit features ads from mid-century magazines aimed at women consumers. Ads are organized by category and include clothing, hygiene and health, and household.

This online exhibit highlights 1930's and 1940's magazine illustrations of women as nurses, secretaries, and domestic help.

Visit MGHL

Because only a small fraction of what MGHL has is available online, we strongly encourage you to visit the library in person. Once here you can flip through magazines in our Periodicals Collections and browse images in the Charles Craver Collection tear sheets at your own pace. We encourage you to contact us before your visit so we can have the items you’re interested in ready for you when you arrive.

From the MGHL Collections

Ad for Van Camp's Pork and Beans from Ladies' Home Journal, December 1911

From the Periodicals Collections