Skip to main content

Women and Popular Culture at the Modern Graphic History Library

A guide to women in pop culture resources at MGHL

From the MGHL Collections

Al Parker cover for Ladies' Home Journal, October 1946

From the Al Parker Collection

From the MGHL Collections

Al Parker illustration for Cosmopolitan, May 1952

From the Al Parker Collection

Al Parker Collection

Al Parker was one of the most successful and influential illustrators of the mid-20th century. His work frequently appeared on the covers and within the pages of many popular women’s magazines during the 1940s and 1950s. Parker's illustrations depicted a post-war ideal of the American family, and he was particularly well-known for a series of covers for Ladies' Home Journal featuring mothers and daughters. He also did work for well-known companies such as American Airlines and General Electric.

The Al Parker Collection contains his original artwork, personal papers and professional documents, and tear sheets from the 1930s to the 1950s.

Researchers interested in mid-century depictions of femininity, domesticity, romance, relationships, and motherhood will find this collection useful. Particularly recommended are Parker's original artwork (Series 7 through 11) and tear sheets and whole issues of magazines (Series 6), especially Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, McCalls, and Cosmopolitan.

You can find out more about the contents of the collection by checking out the Al Parker Collection finding aid on the MGHL website. Additionally, some images from this collection are available on LUNA.