Skip to main content

Race, Ethnicity, and Identity at the Modern Graphic History Library

A guide to race and ethnicity resources at MGHL

Getting Started

This page provides basic information about how to find resources and begin your research at MGHL. For more detailed information about types of materials and images you'll find in particular collections, see the "MGHL Collections" tab.

Finding Aids

A finding aid is a detailed guide that describes an archival collection and its contents. Looking through a finding aid will give you an idea of what kind of materials are in a particular collection.

  • Browse all of the MGHL finding aids
  • Search all of the MGHL finding aids (best if you have something specific in mind)

Visit MGHL

Because only a small fraction of what MGHL has is available online, we strongly encourage you to visit the library in person. Once here you can browse images in the Charles Craver Collection tear sheets or study sketches from the Robert Weaver Collection at your own pace. We encourage you to contact us before your visit so we can have the items you’re interested in ready for you when you arrive.

From the MGHL Collections

From the Robert Weaver Collection

From the MGHL Collections

From the Center for the Humanities Comics Collection

Illustration by Edwin Georgi. From the Charles Craver Collection

LUNA

Our image database, LUNA, contains thousands of digitized images from our collections, and includes many relevant to researchers interested in race and ethnicity. You can access LUNA by using your WUSTL key to log in. (If you are not affiliated with Washington University and are interested in accessing images, please use the information in the sidebar to the left to contact us.) To learn more about using LUNA, see this tutorial.