Skip to main content

Race, Ethnicity, and Identity at the Modern Graphic History Library

A guide to race and ethnicity resources at MGHL

Center for the Humanities Comics Collection

The Center for the Humanities Comics Collection is comprised of thousands of comic books, predominantly published between 1960 and 2000. The collection contains a particularly strong selection of titles featuring African American super heroes and protagonists. To learn more about this collection, see the Center for the Humanities Comics Collection finding aid.

Some of the titles featuring African American protagonists include:

  • The Amazing Willie Mays

  • Black Goliath

  • Black Lightning

  • Black Panther

  • Blade
  • Brother Voodoo

  • Chocolate Thunder

  • The Falcon

  • Fast Willie Jackson

  • Jackie Robinson
  • Martha Washington Goes to War
  • Power Man

  • Static

  • Steel

  • Truth: Red, White, and Black

  • Young Hoods in Love

In addition to comics, the Center for the Humanities Comics Collection has other types of materials dealing with race, ethnicity, and culture, including:

  • Graphic Novels (examples include American Born Chinese, Daddy Cool, Che: A Graphic Biography, and Malcolm X: The Angriest Man in America)
  • Self-Published Comics & Magazines (primarily African American such as Black Gay Boy Fantasy)
  • Manga
  • Foreign Language Comics (primarily Chinese comics)
  • Magazines (primarily African American focused such as Black Enterprises and Vibe)
  • LPs (primarily African American comedians such as Red Foxx and Moms Mabley)

From the MGHL Collections

All images from the Center for the Humanities Comics Collection