Skip to main content
Banner Image

St. Louis Area Historic Maps

A guide to locating historic maps of the St. Louis (Missouri) regional area.

Contact Archive Staff

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT: Starting Spring 2015, University Archives collections are accessed at Special Collections, in Olin Library (Danforth Campus). For details please click.

Owl

* Hours M-F 8:30-5:00 *

Contact: 314-935-5495  spec@wumail.wustl.edu

Located: Olin Library, 1st floor

Please call or e-mail before you visit to reserve your space in the research room.

Contact Archives Staff:

Sonya Rooney, Miranda Rectenwald, Jen Kirmer

Contact US History Librarian

Archive Sources

Located at University Archives, the Harland Bartholomew and Associates Collection is a wonderful source for detailed maps of St. Louis in the 20th century.  This large collection also includes many other metropolitan areas. 

HBA Series 02, black Vol 53, part 1

Image above from HBA Series 2, black Vol 53, part 1

Items in the Harland Bartholomew and Associates Collection include:

ONLINE - St. Louis Area Maps

Hosted by various other organizations:

Other sources for St. Louis Maps

Missouri Maps

Bookshelf

In addition to University Archives, various types of historic maps are located in WU Libraries, including Olin, Art & Artictecture, Earth & Planetary Sciences, West Campus, and Special Collections - Rare Books

See especially subject headings:

Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Maps

Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Maps -- 19th century.


 

More Research Guides about Maps

Looking for maps of other cities, states, or places? Try these resources: