Skip to main content

Diversity and Inclusion

Initiatives and Events

Documenting Ferguson is a freely available resource that seeks to preserve and make accessible the digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014. Our project has the ultimate goal of providing diverse perspectives on the events in Ferguson and the resulting social dialogue. Contribute your voice to the discussion by adding your images, videos or personal stories to the collection.

The 2016 Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon will take place at the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Education and Research Building at The Museum of Modern Art on Saturday, March 5, 2016. Last year, over 1500 participants at more than 75 events around the world participated in the second annual Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon, resulting in the creation of nearly 400 new pages and significant improvements to 500 articles on Wikipedia. The event is hosted by the WU Libraries and open to the community. Everyone is welcome, and no prior Wikipedia experience is necessary! Visit our Wikipedia meet-up page for more details.

In 2013, we signed a contract with Adam Matthew to contributed materials from our University Archives and the Film & Media Archive to create the digital collection African American Communities. Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Learn more about this resource http://libguides.wustl.edu/go.php?c=16630515 and links to local news coverage http://www.kmov.com/story/31122534/st-louis-public-library-gets-access-to-rare-collection-of-african-american-history

Washington University Film & Media Archive was awarded $150,000 from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission’s Digital Dissemination of Historical Records program to digitize and reassemble the interview outtakes from the seminal documentary series, Eyes on the Prize. By Fall 2016, the Eyes on the Prize Digitization and Reassembly Project will make the rare, complete interviews from the first six episodes of the series available for the first time.

 

MARCH 24, 2016 – 7:00 PM LEE AUDITORIUM, MISSOURI HISTORY MUSEUM

Join us for a free screening of Maya Angelou and Still I Rise with co-director Rita Coburn Whack and interviewee Eugene Redmond. Presented in partnership with the Missouri History Museum as part of the Henry Hampton Film Series and the Women’s History Month Series. For more info or to RSVP:  https://www.facebook.com/events/178286319209803/

Collaboration between three universities will develop DocNow, a tool to archive social media content posted during significant events A two-year, $517,000 grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation will fund a project called “Documenting the Now: Supporting Scholarly Use and Preservation of Social Media Content.” Washington University in St. Louis, the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) at the University of Maryland and the University of California, Riverside, are collaborators on the project. The project responds to the public’s use of social media for chronicling historically significant events as well as demand from scholars and archivists seeking a user-friendly means of collecting and preserving digital content.

The St. Louis LGBT History Project has announced a new archival partnership with Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL). University Archives, a unit of Washington University Libraries’ Department of Special Collections, will join with the Project to preserve LGBT artifacts and offer educational programming, with a focus on highlighting the pivotal role WUSTL faculty, alumni, and students have played in LGBT life since the 1800s.The St. Louis LGBT History Project was founded in 2007 with a mission to preserve and promote St. Louis’s gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history. Learn more at www.stlouislgbthistory.com. For more information about LGBT resources at WUSTL go tohttp://libguides.wustl.edu/LGBT-archive.