Literary biographies written by recognized scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. Includes bibiographies for primary and secondary literature.
Standard reference for literary criticism and theory. A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
The standard English-language dictionary of the classical world. Includes extensive bibliographic references. It provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Full-text. 'Provides a comprehensive reference for those interested in the history of poetry or in any aspect of the technique or criticism of poetry. Provides surveys of national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres; detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and modern, Western and Eastern.' (from ebook homepage)
Published in 2007, this reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.