Find Primary Materials, Articles & Data
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in English and other European languages, 19th century to present. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
- A+T Architecture Publishers This link opens in a new windowA+T Architecture Publishers is an editorial company on architecture, independent from any institution or professional group. It was founded in 1992 in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain. Its publications are bilingual (English/Spanish) and distributed worldwide.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowBrings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications, an electronic archive of all AAA journals, holdings information, and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987-) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes over 600 journals and periodicals, from more than 16 countries, spanning literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics from 1987 to present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951 - ) This link opens in a new windowInternational database of bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters for the social sciences since 1951.
- PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology (1940-2010 ) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, journals, and other scientific literature on nonhuman primates including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window(1994-) Covers over 1,000 titles on a variety of topics, 700 of which are available in full text. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). The SSRN eLibrary consists of abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable Get It! and Web of Science Links from within Google Scholar citations. Learn more about proxying Google Scholar Having trouble accessing Google Scholar from off-campus? Use this research guide to access Google Scholar.
- PubMed (1946 - ) This link opens in a new windowOver 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- ICPSRICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
- Census Data - American Fact Findermerican FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
- re3data.org – Registry of Research Data Repositories (formerly Databib)Find a repository related to your research.
- tDAR (The Digital Archaeological Record) This link opens in a new windowAn international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. Search tDAR for digital documents, data sets, images, GIS files, and other data resources from archaeological projects spanning the globe. Also contains data integration tools for use with data sets that simplify and illuminate comparative research.
- Humanitarian Data ExchangeRun by the Centre for Humanitarian Data, which is focused on increasing the use and impact of data in the humanitarian sector. It is managed by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). The Centre’s services are available to humanitarian partners and OCHA staff in the field and at Headquarters free of charge.
Center for World Indigenous Studies
An archive of over 500 documents on indigenous peoples in the Americas, Africa, Asia, Europe, Melanesia, and the Pacific. Includes essays, position papers, resolutions, organizational information, treaties, UN documents, speeches, and declarations
A project to develop digital collection, storage, and distribution strategies for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region. A project to develop digital collection, storage, and distribution strategies for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Provides authoritative information on over 6,000 living spoken languages. Bibliographies regularly updated
Mayan Epigraphic Databse Project
The Mayan Epigraphic Database Project (MED) is an experiment in networked scholarship with the purpose of enhancing Classic Mayan epigraphic research. At present, MED consists of a relational database of glyphs ("gnumbers"), images, phonetic values ("pvalues"), and semantic values ("svalues"). Also present is the beginning of an archive of digitally transcribed Mayan texts.
National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives
Collect and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars
- Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new windowA consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
