Skip to main content

History 333: The Holocaust: History and Memory of the Nazi Genocide

Guide to support History 333: The Holocaust: History and Memory of the Nazi Genocide taught by Anika Walke (Spring 2014)

Testaments to the Holocaust

Archive of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party. It contains eyewitness accounts, photographs of pre-war Jewish life, the activities of the Nazis, and the ghettoes and camps, a collection of postcards of synagogues in Germany and eastern Europe, a unique collection of Nazi propaganda publications including a large collection of ‘educational’ children’s’ books. 75% of the content is written in German. Collection

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950

Although the War in Europe ended officially in May 1945, the struggle continued for the millions of homeless people who had been displaced as a result of military action, deportation into labour or concentration camps, local racism and discrimination or the relocation of national borders. Collection.

Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons

Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.  Collection

Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality

Index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia. The cards are generally in alphabetical order. Suffix names "Israel" for men and "Sara" for women were added by law in 1936 to readily identify persons of Jewish descent. Collection

Audio Testimonies

 

Mapping the Holocaust -- new and old methods

A variety of maps to visualize various landscapes of the Holocaust -- psychological, intellectual, logistical.


Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes

Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets. Collection

Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945

Here is the complete record of political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports received by the British Foreign Office following the breakdown of normal diplomatic relations. Collection

Newspaper Coverage: Full-text Digitized Editions

These newspapers all gave extensive coverage to WWII and its aftermath.

  • Palestine Post (1932 - 1950)
  • Aufbau (New York, 1934-2004) -German & English w/ audio in English. 

    Aufbau began publication in 1934 as a newsletter for the German-Jewish Club of New York.  Overtime, its articles focused more and more on international events and especially the treatment of Jews in Germany. Aufbau became one of the leading anti-Nazi publications of the German press in exile.  -- summary from the  Leo Baeck Institute.  More info.

Looking Back: Refugee Memories

Monica Jane Strauss' recreation of her  Austrian/Bohemian family history.