Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, have been digitized. The Libraries have subscribed to Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; and Series 3, 1829-1922.
Includes The Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
The Lily, the first newspaper for women, began as a temperance journal for “home distribution” among members of the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society, but gradually the newspaper began to include articles about other subjects of interest to women.
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Learn more about this database
Full-text. A fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Records of key railroad companies, papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, maps, illustrations, literary and historical works as well as contemporary newspapers and posters.
Fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
This collection documents the activist and professional activities of Donald S. Lucas. The vast majority of the collection dates from 1953 to 1969. The Lucas collection contains an abundance of material relating to the early homosexual civil rights movement (the homophile movement) and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. The strength of the collection lies in the administrative and work files of the Mattachine Society, the Mattachine Review, Pan-Graphic Press, and the Central City Target Area of the San Francisco EOC. The collection includes: correspondence, meeting minutes, constitutions and by-laws, newsletters, manuscripts, financial documents, reports, statistics, legal decisions, surveys, counseling records, funding proposals, and subject files.
The entire run of Liberty Magazine, containing nearly 1,400 issues, over 17,000 fiction and non-fiction articles, and thousands of advertisements -- all in a searchable, full-color format. The magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America. Browse by date, contributor, and artist, or search the full text of the entire publication (including advertising, maps, and cartoons).
Journal index. Article citations about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Analyses of current political, economic, and social issues as well as unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters.
Full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Learn more about this database
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text. More info about HathiTrust
Provides a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.
Millennial Edition Online, a standard source for quantitative facts of American history, completely expanded and revised, now available as a searchable online database. Contains over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources. You can download tables in E
Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, and personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others.