Skip to main content

You're in Good Company: 3rd Annual Mini-Conference for Graduate Students in the Humanities, Aug. 23, 2016

Being held Tuesday, August 23, 2016 at the Kopolow Business Library in Simon Hall. Prior registration required.

Research

http://www.mcla.edu/Academics/undergraduateresearch/studentgrants/index

Hone research skills and save time! Participants will learn how to create a research plan for obtaining resources. Librarians will highlight specialized databases and show how alert services can assist researchers.  Participants will also gain insight on finding and using materials in archives and special collections.

Research Planning and Alerts

Article Databases, Primary Source Resources, Catalogs @ WU

Select list of primary source databases is below. For more, see list of ALL PRIMARY SOURCE DATABASES.

Loading

Tools & Tips for Finding Archives, Rare Books, Special Collections

Additional directories and sources in WU Catalog

Browse by [term] -- [country] -- Directories

Search topic as a subject with keywords: archives, catalogs, sources, or manuscripts.

Loading

Concept Mapping Resources

The mind-mapping sites below are among the more simple to use; however, you may find that notebook paper, Post-its, or index cards work even better!

When using an online service, consider the following issues:

  • What are the import/export options?
  • Can you save your maps and work on them again?
  • How private is your online work?
  • Can you work both online and offline?
  • Is it easy to use?
  • Does it have the features you need?
  • Are there sharing or collaboration options?
  • What's the cost?