Subject Librarian
Walter Schlect
he/him
Contact:
Washington University in St. Louis
John M. Olin Library | MSC 1061-141-B | 1 Brookings Drive | St. Louis, Missouri 63130
Email: wschlect@wustl.edu
John M. Olin Library | MSC 1061-141-B | 1 Brookings Drive | St. Louis, Missouri 63130
Email: wschlect@wustl.edu
314-935-6869
Primo
- PrimoPRIMO searches across our catalog and several other indexes for books, articles, film and more. After searching by keyword you can filter by time period, source, language, and more. This is a great place to start looking for scholarly literature before turning to more subject-specific databases.
Recommended Databases/Online Indexes
Use 
to check whether full text is available online or in print as well as to make requests via ILL. More information about Get it!
- Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFrom the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) (1985 - ) This link opens in a new windowMajor bibliography on German language and literature. Requires use of umlauts and other diacritics.
- Germanistik Online Datenbank This link opens in a new windowDatabase for all issues of the bibliography Germanistik which includes citations for German philology, literature, and language. Also covers other Germanic languages and literatures, film, comparative literature, and literary theory.
- Historical Abstracts (1955-) This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
New interface available at JSTOR Artstor
Collection of nearly 2 million images, documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures. Embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
- Art Full Text (1984-) This link opens in a new windowArticles from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Includes a total of 378 periodicals with the full text of 93 journals back to January 1997. Updated monthly.
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of the Humanities, Social Sciences, and the Sciences
Dissertations
Dissertations are often a great sources for narrow topics, and they have very lengthy bibliographies where you can discover even more sources.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637 to the present day together with over 2.7 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 200,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Learn more about this database.
- Electronic theses & dissertations in WU Open ScholarshipSearch here for dissertations completed at Washington University