Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus' voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.
Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia to guide researchers to the best available scholarship in Latin American Studies. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Also includes expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline – whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set – to streamline the research process.
Good Starting Points
Need a definition of a term? Can't remember a date, need back ground information on a person, phenomenon, theory, or historical event? Use these (mostly) online reference sources.
Complete texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics enabling browsing by historical subject areas and includes extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality.
Subject areas covered:
Slave trade -- Africa -- History
Slave trade -- Brazil -- History
Slavery and the church -- Catholic Church
Brazil -- Race relations -- History
Abolitionists -- Brazil -- History