Research Guides: Human Rights Research: Introductory Materials

Reference

Print copies of most of these materials are also available and can be found in the library catalog.

Many relevant print materials are located at the bottom floor of the Law Library. Check the hours here.

Encyclopedia of human rights [electronic resource] / edited by David P. Forsythe
Background and analysis of aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms. Primarily focused on post-1945 developments.
Encyclopedia of race and racism [electronic resource] / Patrick L. Mason, editor in chief
Find background on historic origins of ideas of race and racism, and their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Encyclopedia of human rights issues since 1945 [electronic resource] / Winston E. Langley
Descriptions of major human rights incidents and actors, 1945-1998.
Dictionary of international human rights law [electronic resource] / Connie de la Vega
Standard definitions of terms and concepts frequently referenced in International Human Rights Law.

CQ Researcher (1991 - ) This link opens in a new window
44 reports per year. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week, featuring comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue.
Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Country profiles include: key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications. Also profiles a number of intergovernmental organizations, such as the African Union, OPEC, NATO, the WTO, regional banks, and the International Criminal Court.