Skip to main content

Collection Space Management @ Washington University Libraries

Olin Library Microform Collection to be Relocated

On December 22, 2016, the Libraries will begin the process of relocating the Olin Library microform collection from free-standing drawers on Level B to compact shelving on the same floor. This move is in preparation for a future phase of the Olin Library Transformation Project and the creation of a new Special Collections classroom on Level B.

The microform relocation is expected to be completed before spring classes begin on January 17, 2017. During the relocation, some noise and disruption are expected on Level B, and portions of the microform collection may be inaccessible for brief periods. The Libraries apologize for the temporary inconvenience. Once the collections have moved, they will be fully accessible on Level B and will be located closer to the microform readers.

If you have questions about this project, please contact Sarah Laaker, Manager of Library User Space Planning & Campus Liaison, or Deb Ehrstein, Head of Access.

Germanic Literatures Collections Moving in January

The Germanic Literatures collections (PTs) on Olin Library’s Level A will be relocated to Level B during the intersession period, January 10-12, 2017.  By moving the collection to Level B, the Libraries will alleviate overcrowding in the Olin stacks, and the Germanic Literatures collection will gain:

  • Ample room for growth
  • A better browsing arrangement 
  • Greater visibility through enhanced signage

By moving the materials during the intersession, we hope to minimize the inconvenience to faculty, staff, and students. Library staff will be on hand to assist users in finding items during the move. Items may also be requested via the WU Libraries Catalog.

Please contact Brad Short, Associate University Librarian, or Brian Vetruba, Germanic Languages and Literatures, Comparative Literature, and European Studies Librarian for further information.

Selected Law & Political Science Collections Moving to Law Library

During spring break, from March 14 - 18, 2016, the Libraries will be moving all political science (call numbers in the J range) and law (call numbers in the K range) monographs and bound journal collections from Olin Library to the Law Library, and selected* political science and law monographs and bound journal collections from the East Asian Library to the Law Library. The moves will help the Libraries more effectively manage collections space across its locations. 

These books will be inaccessible during the move. Users may continue to request items through the library catalog for pick-up at any Danforth Campus library; however, please expect slower than usual fulfillment of requests placed during this period. 

The Law Library is currently open to the non-Law WU community Monday – Friday, 8 am to 6 pm, during the fall and spring semesters, and Monday – Friday, 8:30 am to 5 pm, during summer and other break periods. Hours are posted on the Law Library’s website at http://law.wustl.edu/library/pages.aspx?id=1125, where you will also find holiday hours and other exceptions.

Please note that all Political Science course reserves will continue to be housed at Olin Library.

 * East Asian Library J and K collections moving to the Law Library include:

  • Bound journals in J and K call number ranges (except two titles—JA26 K6 and JF1625 I6 I55)
  • Monographs in J1-JN9689
  • Monographs in K
  • Selected monographs in the JQ and JS call number ranges

Questions? Contact Jeff Huestis, Joyce McCray Pearson, or Brad Short.

 

Our Commitment to Long-Term Access