Skip to main content

Contemporary German Literature Collection

Overview of the Contemporary German Literature Collection

About the Collection

The Contemporary German Literature Collection is the largest of its kind in North America and consists mainly of novels, poetry, short story collections, essays, autobiographical works, and literary and cultural periodicals from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, other German-speaking regions of Europe. It is the research arm of the Max Kade Center for Contemporary  German Literature which was founded in 1984 by its director, Paul Michael Lützeler, Rosa May Distinguished University Professor in the Humanities. The Center promotes teaching and research of modern German literature.

The collection is housed in the call number range PT 2660-2728 on Level B of Olin Library. All items in the Collection can be found via the WU Classic Catalog and Primo. A list of items added to the Collection since 2002 is available here. Collection materials are made available to other universities via interlibrary loan.

Beginning in 1985, the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures in cooperation with the University Libraries began publishing an annual bibliography of items added the previous year to the Contemporary German Literature Collection. In addition to basic bibliographical information, subject and genre descriptors are included for each volume. Earlier bibliographies also provide annotations. All issues of the Bibliography are now available as PDF downloads in Open Scholarship.

Recent issues of the Bibliography include:

- 30th Bibliography (2016)

- 29th Bibliography (2015)

- 28th Bibliography (2014)