Art Exhibition ReviewsDatabasesFull Text
Art Book Reviews
Print Reference
Art History Ceramic Materials (ART 1131)Illustrated Bartsch Modern Graphic History Library Painting Top 10 Resources for Art StudentsWriting an Artist's Statement
Finding Digital Images 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Art  Tags: art studio_arts fine_arts  

A guide to research in Art.
Last update: Sep 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Women Artists             Print Page
  
 

Women Artists: A Select Bibliography

Women Artists: A Select Bibliography

REFERENCE & BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIALS

American women artists : from early Indian times to the present
Streifer-Rubinstein, Charlotte. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, c1982

American women sculptors: a history of women working in three dimensions
Streifer-Rubinstein, Charlotte. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1990.

Biographical dictionary of women artists in Europe and America since 1850
Dunford, Penny. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c1989.

Concise dictionary of women artists
Gaze, Delia, editor. London ; New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.

Contemporary women artists
Collier-Hillstrom, Laurie & Kevin Hillstrom, editors. Detroit : St. James Press, c1999.

Dictionary of artists' models
Berk-Jiminez, Jill, editor. London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c2001.

Female gazes : seventy-five women artists
Martin, Elizabeth & Vivian Meyer. Toronto : Second Story Press, c1997.

Who's who of American women : geographical-vocational index
Chicago : Marquis Who's Who, 1959-

Women artists in the 20th and 21st century
Grosenick, Uta, editor. Köln ; New York: Taschen, 2001.


WOMEN ARTISTS OF ETHNICITY

The art of Black American women : works of twenty-four artists of the twentieth century
Henkes, Robert. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1993.

Latin American women artists of the United States : the works of 33 twentieth-century women
Henkes, Robert. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1999.

Women artists of color: a bio-critical sourcebook to 20th century artists in the Americas
Farris, Phoebe, editor. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
Includes: Native, Latin, African, & Asian-Pacific American women artists


FEMINIST ART

Feminist art criticism : an annotated bibliography
Langer, Cassandra. New York, NY : G.K. Hall, 1993.

Historical dictionary of feminism
Janet K. Boles, Diane Long Houveler, Rebecca Bardwell. Lanham, Md. :
Scarecrow Press, 1996.

The Routledge critical dictionary of feminism and postfeminism
Gamble, Sarah, editor. New York : Routledge, 2000.



GENERAL SEARCH STRATEGIES & SOURCES

Monographs

see Women Artists - 9 related subjects in the WU catalog & beyond

see
Feminism and Art under subject
see Feminism - 14 related subjects
see Gender Identity in Art

Periodicals

see Feminism- Periodicals or Women Artists- Periodicals
in the WU catalog subject listing, UnionLists, & WorldCat


Full-text Journals available through Project Muse:

Camera Obscura (2000- present)

differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies (1998-present)

Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies ( 2001-present)

Hypatia (2002- present)

Journal of Women's History (2000-present)

NWSA Journal (1999-present)


Databases
see
Washington University Women's Studies Databases Page

Art & Art History Databases Page



WEB SITES

artcyclopedia.com chronological list of women artists, 1490 to present

Artwomen.org

Australian Women's Art Register

Bildwechsel
~ an umbrella organization for women / media arts /culture

Guerrilla Girls ~Facts, humor & fake fur

National Museum of Women in the Arts

Varos Registry ~ Bibliography of Women Artists

Women Artists Books in Special Collections, Olin Library

Women Artists in the Washington University Collections


BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Abstract expressionist women painters: an annotated bibliography
Puniello, Françoise S. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 1995.

American women photographers: a selected and annotated bibliography
Kreisel, Martha. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.

Feminist art criticism : an annotated bibliography
Langer, Cassandra. New York, NY : G.K. Hall, 1993.

A gallery of her own: an annotated bibliography of women in Victorian painting
Harris, Elree I. New York : Garland Publishing, 1997.

St. Louis women artists: a bibliography
Compiled by E. Petraits.

Women artists in the United States: a selective bibliography and resource guide on the fine and decorative arts, 1750-1986
McCracken, Penny. New York : G. K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, 1997-

The women impressionists: a sourcebook
Clement, Russell T. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.

Women in the fine arts: A bibliography and illustration guide
Anderson, Janet A.Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1991.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Leousis


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait